Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2015
HAD TO READ THIS FOLLOWING A VISIT TO THE NATIONAL FOOTBALL MUSEUM IN MANCHESTER. I READ A STORY ABOUT COLIN WHERE A FAN CAME ON TO THE PITCH AT MAINE ROAD APRIL 1976 IN HIS COMEBACK GAME FOLLOWING INJURY. HE PRESENTED COLIN WITH A HOMEMADE CROWN ,,,,THE KING OF MANCHESTER CITY. ANY PLAYER WHO INSPIRES SUCH LOVE ,MUST BE WORTH READING ABOUT. I WAS NOT WRONG.....COLIN BELL IT IS QUITE CLEAR A VERY HUMBLE DOWNTO EARTH MAN...AND DESPITE THE ODD BAD TURN...EVEN BY THOSE ONE WOULD NOT EXPECT.....HE SEEMS VERY LEVEL HEADED AND WHAT IS MOST REFRESHING ...FOR THE PERIOD...WITHOUT A TRACE OF BITTER LEMON!...I SAW HIM TWICE...IN HIS LAST SEASON AT SOUTHAMPTON 1978-79, AND THE ONLY THING I RECALL IS CITY FANS SINGING TO THE TUNE OF ROD STEWARTS WE ARE SAILING...'.WE ARE CITY FROM MAINE ROAD'...FOR THE WHOLE SECOND HALF....DESPITE LOSING BOTH GAMES...AMAZING SUPPORTERS..IT STAYED IN MY HEAD FOR DAYS !!!!! DON'T EXPECT SHOCK...OR...RANT...JUST A SIMPLE STORY OF A GUY WHO LOVES HIS FAMILY AND HIS CLUB...RELUCTANT HERO.....OLD STYLE.......AMAZON UK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
A great player for both City and England and this book by Ian Cheeseman sure does the job, a gift for my brother who was a massive Colin Bell fan, he sure will enjoy reading this book, so he wont be dissapointed or bored on Christmas Day, thats for sure, so to read about a famous City player of the past then get this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
The recipent of this present was a late teenage football fan of Man City, he was thrilled that I had thought out of the box for this as a gift. Books are often underated as a present now with so much technology. An autobiography I think is a book to pick up and put down so wouldn't work so well as a kindle offering as I watched him thumb backs and forwards to the photos
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
Good easy read about a true legend,typical of the rags to have ended his career.Wish him good health for many many years to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
only took two days to read this book as i couldnt put it down. true revealing account of one of englands best unsung footballers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
As a life long city fan, this is easy........its a great book about a great player who comes across with humility and honesty. you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Bought this for my Husband who has been a City fan for 50 or so years. He was highly delighted and said it was a really good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
A fantastic read of a time when footballers were footballers and not pd an easy read of a footballing legend Colin Bell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
colin bell was my boyhood hero,so it was great to read his life story.proper footballer and man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Colin bell is my hero and loved his book colin bell is god too me !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)