Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
21
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 26 October 2013
While this isn't Iain banks, it is certainly entertaining. I'm comfortable enough with myself not to be bothered by the continual sex, in fact it can be quite funny sometimes, although one does wonder sometimes if a different filler could be used sometimes to fill the gaps between major events. The characters are developed well enough to continue to be interesting and overall for a piece of light hearted sci-fi it works well. I am looking forward to book three!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
loved the series having read all of the Aneka Jansen books looking forward to more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I originally posted this review on Amazon.com, but thought it deserved to be ported over to the U.K. site. These books deserve their 5 star ratings. I liked both of the Aneka Jansen books that much, and hope for more!

.... I have just finished reading `The Cold Steel Mind'. It is a worthy and imaginative sequel to `Steel Beneath the Skin'. Aneka Jansen, kidnapped by the alien Xinti in 2011 and reanimated in an android body twelve-hundred years later, has become an accepted member of the crew of the archaeological research ship Garnet Hyde. They have returned to the wreck of the Agroa Gar, the Xinti ship on which the android body into which her consciousness was downloaded was found in stasis. There are secrets to be had on the Agroa Gar, some of which someone doesn't seem to want known. But, there may be more players in this game than the crew of Garnet Hyde even imagine...
.... I found this book just as much fun to read as the first. There is a little less direct action and a little more characterization and world building in this adventure and I found it a nice balance that held my attention from beginning to end. Once again, I could not put it down. The sex scenes that some complained about in the first book are here too, but dialed back a bit as a more complicated plot takes over. Once again, the sex is treated with a generally light (if graphic), and humorous hand with the exception of the actions of one dark character who eventually draws Aneka's righteous ire. Again, good job, Niall. I am looking forward to the next one. This is shaping up to be a memorable series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
A very worthy sequel.
Somewhat less porn than in book one "Steel beneath the skin", but more than in yer average SciFi book.
Having said that, the continuation of the story is excellent. There are relentless attempts to kidnap Aneka Jansen for her knowledge or her genes, summarily dealt with, but the main plotline is about Aneka using her unique knowledge of the past to go forth where no one has gone recently. The crew make contact with the remnants of the Xinti, who are not as hostile as you might think, but the offer of scientific riches is short lived.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Loved this book. Lots of angles. Would have loved a closer look at society in this future but needless to say i am definitely reading the next one
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
Another in the series about this awesome young "lady", with an insatiable appetite for kickin' ass and comforting her girl friend in more ways than one! The story is somewhat believable and straight from the realms of Robert Heinlein, or a futuristic Modesty Blaize. Does that show my age? Who cares, it was worth buying and great fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I have read all three story's in this series and can't wait for the next one (hoping there will be more). An unusual story line and wonderfully captivating. The only comment I would add is that I would have liked to have seen more story on the other characters with them being less in the background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
Another episode of Breasts in Space!

The story is great but the constant banging on about all the female character's breasts and sexual activities is far too much! - Please grow out of this Niall! It does NOTHING for the story!

An interesting and good read though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
This is the second Aneka Jansen book, and just as good as the first. The story is well told and is coherent, without the plot holes that spoil so many sci-fi books.

I became quite drawn to the characters as well and hope that further stories will follow soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Another great story in this series by Niall Teasdale.
This Series continues to be a good idea it follows from each book so your able to keep up and the story is good too.
Why 4 stars because sometimes you lose where the story is going next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse