Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £2.99

Save £5.00 (63%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Cold Killing (DI Sean Corrigan, Book 1) by [Delaney, Luke]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Cold Killing (DI Sean Corrigan, Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 461 customer reviews
Book 1 of 4 in DI Sean Corrigan (4 Book Series)

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£2.99

Length: 465 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £9.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Great Reads for 99p
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to 99p each. Learn more

Complete Series
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply

Product description

Review

‘A striking debut from a former Murder Squad Detective, Delaney is not his real name, but there is no doubt about his inside knowledge and ability to convey it’ Daily Mail

‘A confident, aggressive and very promising debut by a former Met detective’ The Times

‘An authentic voice on how the police operate with a stone-cold killer striking randomly around London … scary authenticity’ The Sun

From the Back Cover

Detective Inspector Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. An unthinkable childhood left him with a fierce determination to protect the innocent. But it also marked him with an ability to identify the darkness in others--a darkness he recognizes still exists deep within himself.

When a young man is found brutally murdered, Corrigan, responsible for South London's Murder Investigation Team, takes the case. But what first appears to be a straightforward domestic murder very quickly leads Corrigan to several other victims and the most dangerous killer he's ever encountered. The perpetrator changes his modus operandi with each crime and leaves behind not a shred of usable forensic evidence. Still, Corrigan knows beyond a doubt that the same man is behind each of these deaths, and he soon finds himself in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer who strikes far too close to home.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1361 KB
  • Print Length: 465 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins (28 Mar. 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008TGOM56
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 461 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #14,199 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Aurora TOP 1000 REVIEWER on 23 Aug. 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
When all the evidence points in one direction and the Detective in charge of the investigation can feel the evil emanating from his main suspect, it should be a simple matter to join the dots and make all the right connections to be able to take the said suspect off the streets. This killer seems to be going out of his way to make himself known to the Police but never leaving any trace of himself as evidence. The investigation here is very thorough but perhaps limited in its scope. The team is working well together, all following up different angles, but one of them is looking to be the one who gets any relevant information first and uses his connections to do so, another is following up on leads which have generated further leads but without necessarily feeding back the resulting information in a timely manner. Despite all of that, I liked the sense of purpose of the team working together and the DI using his connections to get in on the ground floor of the investigations into murders which occur in locations which come under a different division. There is some good lateral thinking and by being methodical they make connections where none might otherwise have been made. This helps them to establish a pattern, or lack thereof, which nonetheless helps them to make the necessary links. Added to all of this is an uncanny ability on the part of DI Sean Corrigan to get inside the mind of the killer and to think like him which is both a blessing and a curse, as, he is not only able to pick up on clues but also leads him to fixate on one person.
This is a well put together story which has an almost mesmeric quality as it keeps the reader gripped with a slight sense of unease, and a desire to go on reading in order to get through the next disturbing passage and hope to gain more insight.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What can i say.. Brilliant.

This author has really pulled it off with this story, just brilliant, I read a few reviews on how people knew who it was early on,,, I didn't lol
Brilliant twists and turns and gripping throughout.

DI Sean Corrigan - a police officer like no other.

This is Luke Delaney's Debut Crime novel, a perfect read for any Crime fiction fans. The good thing about only just reading this book is the fact i can go right to the next one as soon as i want, i dont need to wait for it coming out.

Well done Luke. I will be reading more from this author.

It's quite scary when you think about it---where do the authors get the ideas for books like this..

Terrifyingly authentic, London-set debut crime novel with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.
DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. The terrible abuse he suffered in childhood hasn't stopped him enjoying family life with his wife and two daughters, or pursuing an impressive career with South London's Murder Investigation Unit. But it has left him with an uncanny ability to identify the darkness in others - a darkness he recognises still exists deep within his own psyche and battles to keep buried there. Now Sean's on the trail of the most dangerous killer he's ever encountered. The perpetrator has no recognisable MO, leaves no forensic evidence and his victims have nothing in common. But Sean knows they were all murdered by the same man. Now all he has to do is find the evidence, convince his bosses and stop the killing ...before his adversary gets too close to home.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Headline says it all really. It was gripping in some places, and very fast-paced throughout, which pulls you into the story and keeps you turning pages. Which, if that's what you're after, then it's a great book for that purpose. However, don't expect to find anything new in here. The characters are some of the flattest, most two-dimensional individuals you'll ever come across in fiction. Clichés abound in this book, and there is very little originality in both the story or the characters. It's all been done before a million times over. And the 'twist' is obvious a mile off.

But for many, that's okay - it was an entertaining read that kept me occupied during a holiday, and for that purpose it suits just fine. Just don't go expecting any groundbreaking novelty - it's not a terrible book, but it's not great either - it's just okay.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A good crime thriller. I read a lot of these books and am pleased to see what I hope is the start of a new series. The only reason for 3 instead of 4 stars is that it has very graphic violent scenes which I found I had to skip over. While violence is to be expected in this genre I once again wonder if these type of books should have a warning about extremely violent content.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Excellent thriller-twists and turns and you like the detectives in charge of the case.

I read the kindle book in 3 days as I really could not put it down and as I only read at night just before I retire, well you can imagine I had 3 very late nights.

A really good buy and I have put the author down on my wish list for the second novel re the same detectives but it is not due out until September. Cannot wait.

Malcolm Jones
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover