Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
40
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 May 2000
One of the best novels by Jack Higgins.
It is one of his classical WWII stories, where well known characters as Dougal Munro appear. In these series of works, it is overrated only by his masterpiece itself: "The eagle has landed".
It is far better than "Flight of eagles", Higgins' recent novel dealing with the same subject and involving a few of the same characters (even if it isn't a sequel).
The plot is always breathtaking and far from predictable. You can't really refrain from devourring it, even late at night, when you have to wake up for the next morning's early start .
The attention to historical details is as accurate as usual, giving to the whole story a vivid sense of reality.
If you like the genre, I can suggest the reading of "Storm warning", to which I grant the same rating.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
I have just started reading this accomplished author and have been extremely satisfied with the story lines and characters involved. A difficult book to put down which in turn creates a downside because the book is over all too soon, would highly recommend and will be reading many other titles by 'Jack Higgins'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I loved this book and read it too quickly. There are a lot of books that start off exciting and then trail off and you finish the book, well, because you started it, but this book held you from the first page until the last. If you enjoy books based on the Second World War this is a must for you, in my opinion. Would definitely look for over Jack Higgins books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2008
A good solid tale, but not the best one by a long way. For Higgins fans it will be enjoyable. Worth a read but not a classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
I enjoyed the story; found it interesting and plausible, but it was somewhat spoiled for me by the number of spelling mistakes, which was quite excessive. Whoever did the proof reading did an extremely poor job!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
I have read many of Jack Higgins books and to me he is the master story teller. I can honestly say that this book is amongst the best I have read with its plot building and twist and turns it was hard to put down. Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
enjoyable, but a typical Jack Higgins plot structure of the flawed hero and novice spy and usual characters, almost a series of books, but did enjoy and would read again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Another fantastic tale from the Master! More twists and turns than a roller coaster . Who was on who's side is still in doubt. I think!! I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
An excellent book by Jack Higgins. Not, perhaps, as good as Eagle has landed, or Eagle has flown, but a good wartime thriller. Looking for the next Jack Higgins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Bought as part of a series to re read on my Kindle. I had bought the book a few years ago in paperback and wanted to read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here