A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £4.69 (36%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£4.68
Kindle price
£9.37
Paperback price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£4.69 (36%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
  • RRP: £12.99
  • You Save: £3.62 (28%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Cold Desert Sky (Charlie ... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Cold Desert Sky (Charlie Yates 3) Paperback – 5 Jul 2018

5.0 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback, 5 Jul 2018
£9.37
£7.23 £2.91
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Cold Desert Sky (Charlie Yates 3)
  • +
  • Black Night Falling (A Charlie Yates mystery)
  • +
  • The Dark Inside (A Charlie Yates mystery)
Total price: £24.94
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber; Main edition (5 July 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0571334717
  • ISBN-13: 978-0571334711
  • Product Dimensions: 15.3 x 2.5 x 23.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 157,773 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Pitch perfect American noir. (Laura Wilson Guardian)

The third Charlie Yates novel has our hero and his wife Lizzie in 1946 Los Angeles - and the reporter with a nose for trouble is up to his neck in it. The tarnish of Tinseltown shows through as Charlie investigates the case of two missing women, following a lead into the desert to the building site that is the nascent Las Vegas, and into yet more danger. (Times/Sunday Times Crime Club)

A thing of beauty... an extraordinarily compelling, genuinely absorbing and totally immersive piece of storytelling that will stay with you long after you turn the final page... Excellent. (LizLovesBooks)

'Since his debut novel The Dark Inside, Rod Reynolds has
emerged as one of the UK's most talented new crime authors. His retro-inspired crime fiction continues with Cold Desert Sky. Set in the 1940s it sees Charlie Yates return to
his job writing for the Pacific Journal where he becomes obsessed with the
disappearances of two Hollywood actresses. The famous real-life mobster Siegel has a few cards to play here, and if you're a fan of James Ellroy this one would be worth checking out - it starts off right in his patch before heading East towards Vegas.'

(Crime Fiction Lover)

'Charlie Yates is back and it feels like it has been too long since we last spent any time together. Reuniting with characters I love to read about never grows old - picking up a book and slipping back into their world is such a treat. Charlie's world is 1950's America and once again I find myself marvelling at the way Rod Reynolds can make a time and place which I have never visited seem so realistic. So much of what I love about these stories is based in the way I feel I become part of the telling.brilliantly compelling.' (Grab This Book)

'[Reynolds] has created another exquisitely authentic masterpiece, his 1940s America coming alive with its richly drawn setting, terse and believable dialogue, and powerful characterization, and it draws on the best elements of American noir... a first-class, evocative thriller. Its expert craftsmanship is underpinned by a raw and emotional core. This is page-turning, highly engaging entertainment, but also a study of corruption, guilt, relationships and a paper-thin industry peddling dreams. If you haven't read Rod Reynolds yet, you are missing some of the best crime fiction you may ever read. Simply outstanding.' (Orenda Books)

Book Description

Brilliant third novel from emerging young crime writer, whose Charlie Yates series explores the crime ridden landscape of post WWII America - perfect for fans of James Ellroy

See all Product description

6 customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

18 July 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
30 July 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
16 August 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 August 2018
Format: Paperback
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
5 July 2018
Format: Paperback
review image
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 July 2018
Format: Paperback

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?