Buy Used
£2.97
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Former Library books. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Cold Commands (Land Fit for Heroes) Hardcover – 11 Oct 2011

3.8 out of 5 stars 52 customer reviews

See all 23 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, 11 Oct 2011
£589.10 £2.97
CD-ROM
"Please retry"
£54.99
click to open popover


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Del Rey Books (11 Oct. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780345493064
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345493064
  • ASIN: 0345493060
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 4.3 x 24.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 52 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 10,283,676 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Praise for The Cold Commands:
"Morgan brings a fresh approach to epic fantasy, giving his world a hard edge and blending in such sf elements as machine intelligences and extraterrestrial races...Morgan's protagonists, with their tough outward demeanor and lofty ethics, lend depth and seriousness of purpose to high fantasy and should appeal to fans of George R.R. Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" series." --Library Journal


Praise for Richard K. Morgan's "The Steel Remains, "
Book One of A Land Fit for Heroes

"Bold, brutal, and making no compromises--Morgan doesn't so much twist the cliches of fantasy as take an axe to them."--Joe Abercrombie

"The award-winning author of "Altered Carbon "and" Market Forces" brings the same iconoclastic approach to his fantasy debut as he did to his sf technothrillers. . . . Morgan's storytelling talent and his atmospheric, hard-hitting prose make this a strong addition to mature fantasy collections."--"Library Journal"

"Spellbinding . . . There's so much to like about the adventure."--"The Star-Ledger"

"Morgan has taken traditional sword and sorcery tropes and given them a hard, contemporary kick. The antithesis of the cosy fairytale, this one is for big boys."--"The Times" (London)

"A powerful turn-everything-up-to-eleven reading experience . . . Morgan is a gifted writer, and his gifts are lavishly on display here."--Adam Roberts, author of "Yellow Blue Tibia"

"It compels you to read on with its gritty, visceral writing and intelligent plot. It's tense and fascinatingly peopled, and given that the follow-ups will doubtless be tremendous you're encouraged to jump on from the start. Just, ahem, steel yourself.""--SFX"


"From the Hardcover edition."

"Heroic fantasy [with] several surprising twists."--The Wall Street Journal

"[Richard K.] Morgan brings a fresh approach to epic fantasy. . . . [The Cold Commands] should appeal to fans of George R. R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series."--Library Journal
"Pulpy and hard-core, but with a heart of gold . . . Imagine a drawing by Frank Frazetta, come to life in an intelligent story full of dry wit and characters you actually care about."--io9
"Passionate, fast-paced, smart and furious . . . This is a character-driven and intelligent fantasy. . . . Robert E. Howard would have approved."--SFX
"The action sequences are sheer brilliance. . . . Morgan's writing has a power and energy that few can match."--SFRevu --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Book Description

Fantasy: harder, faster, bloodier. The king of noir SF takes on Fantasy. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 6 July 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: s shock watch, stop clock, watch band, white watches, classic watch, fashion watch

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?