Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2009
This book outlines the approach I take in my own coaching. It outlines the approach in a very clear and accessible way with a focus on the real skill a coach must deploy if not to simply offer advice, share experience or direct. Coaching is a difficult endeavour with an imperative to work in a particular way with each coachee. This book addresses the nature of that challenge very well indeed. "
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2007
This book serves as a great introduction to coaching. It is the basis for the coaching training provided by the Coaches Training Institute. However, this book is useful for those people who want to make changes in their own lives, as well as for people looking for a career in coaching. The style is accessible, with many examples and exercises to practice. With the second edition, there is a resources CD that contains forms (for those of you who don't want to mark your books!) as well as audio recordings of coaching sessions, which really bring the book to life. If you want to find out about becoming a coach, or just want to use the skills to improve your own life, this book is a great start.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
I found the book extremely easy to read, the language flows fluently. The book takes you on a journey of the skills required of a coach but unlike some other books it focuses as much on the client as it does the coach. Some reviews that I have read refer to a model for co-active coaching, and there is some mention of this in the book, I did not find that the flow of the text followed the model it felt much more natural than that. Within the chapters there are sample coaching session texts and exercises to reinforce the learning points. Within the text there is a compehensive resource of coaching models (such as wheel of life), check lists and guidance sheets. There is also a CD with templates and sample coaching sessions.

I am sure this is one of those books that I will re-read and always find something new in.

Overall an excellent text.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2011
I had my doubts about how useful this book would be as I already have course notes from the CTI courses that mirror the content. However, I have actually found it to be an inspiration. It is beautifully structured, with clear explanations, examples and practice exercises while also being very human, intuitive and perceptive. It captures and conveys the essence of coaching practice and has helped me to clarify the way I want to coach. It also provides a host of useful resources, such as sample contracts, powerful questions, checklists for discovery sessions and so on. I suspect it would not have the same power for anyone who had not experienced coaching themselves (nothing can beat experience) but a worthwhile buy for most of us, both as an introductory and a revision text.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 January 2008
Ten years ago, coaches were essentially consultants who prescribed specific behaviors for clients struggling in the workplace. These days, coaches have much more experience and expertise; the best of them relate to their clients "co-actively," as partners rather than as authority figures. In fact, Laura Whitworth, Karen Kimsey-House, Henry Kimsey-House and Phillip Sandahl contend that such coaching can facilitate fundamental changes in many aspects of a client's life, not just at work, and they outline the skills coaches need to accomplish this. The book includes a CD that explains the basic principles of their philosophy, and an appendix with forms and exercises for coaches and clients. getAbstract recommends it to managers and human resource professionals who want to brush up the softer side of their coaching skills.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
I've skimmed the book and it seems easy to read and very clear. But the real bonus is the CD that comes with it that seems to contain lots of really useful stuff for coaches to refer to.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2011
I purchased this book for my Kindle in May 2011 and found that there are several references to materials on a CD that comes with the hard copy in the text, and approx. half the book is made up of very useful templates.

Four stars instead of five for missing out on the extra's this way without warning in the product description - I would not have bought the Kindle edition had I known, but I note that at the time of writing this book is not available in the Kindle format (!?).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
As described, good value!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)