Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
51
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2004
I first read the "Katy" series of books when I was 8 years old, and was always disappointed that the third book ended so abruptly. It wasn't until I started re-reading the books as an adult that I began to search for more information about Susan Coolidge on the internet and discovered that there were two final books in the series, albeit out of print. With rare copies of these books going for vast sums of money on auction sites (!), I danced around with happiness when I discovered that the books were finally being reprinted.
So, was it worth the wait? Absolutely! Katy finally (or so it seemed after a 20 year engagement!) gets married and Clover steps out of the shadows and becomes a much more developed character, as the title of the book suggests. After Katy's wedding, an event causes Clover to leave home where she is reunited with a past character. The only disappointment is that because a good part of the book is set away from the family home, most of the remaining Carr children have little more than a sentence to say in the whole story.
But even so, I cannot wait until Girls Gone By publish "In the High Valley" later in the year and the stories of the Carr family reach their proper conclusion.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
A lovely, heartening, and hugely enjoyable sequel to the more widely publicised 'Katy' books, 'What Katy Did', 'What Katy Did At School', and 'What Katy Did Next'. It is truly a delight to read more about Katy's sister, Clover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2017
There are so many fascinating details about early settlers in Colorado. The book is quite charming. What a joy finding these additional Katy books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
What a joy to discover this book and the sequel, In The High Valley. I enjoyed the Katy books when young, and it was a real pleasure to read these books about Clover and the other Carr siblings.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 November 2008
I was amazed to find this 4th book existed, and rushed to buy it. (Can't wait to find the High Valley!) The book is full of exquisite descriptions, as Katy marries (sniff) and Clover travels to Colorado and a different way of life. It's the fine detail that Susan Coolidge excels in - who knew they had canned soup back then? How could Katy paper a whole room by herself in an afternoon? But overall, the lasting message is one of family values and simple pleasures, and lives worth living. Those were the days! This is a must for all those who loved reading about jumbles and washstands, without an idea of what they looked like!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2004
This gem of a book is a must-read for everyone who ever pored over the adventures of Katy in What Katy Did, What Katy did at School, and What Katy Did Next. As I only very recently learned, when the estimable Girls Gone By Press announced their publication schedule, this series actually has five books, not just three, and Clover is book four. I got a copy the day of publishing and thoroughly enjoyed every delicious page of it. There are few pleasures in life sweeter than meeting up with an old friend and finding her just as good company as ever!
Clover begins with the preparations for Katy's wedding and continues with Clover's trip to Colorado. Coolidge evokes the Colorado of the 1880's magnificently, but doesn't allow the story to descend into mere travelogue, and we have a wonderful time following Clover on her adventures as she nurses her ailing brother back to health, dodges passive aggressive old women & explores the western frontier. Don't miss it!
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2004
I didn't know until recently that there are FIVE "Katy" books (the last two obviously not called "What Katy Did...". This book decribes Katy's marriage to Mrs. Ashe's brother, Lt. Worthington, an unconventional event, though typically Katy and still lovely, featuring "cameos" from many popular characters of the first three books. It then goes on to detail Clover's journey to Colorado with Phil to help him get over a period of invalidism (a familiar theme after katy's fall, though not as serious), plenty of chance for Ms. Coolidge's beautiful description of the stunning scenery and the introduction of several new and intriguing characters!
This full and unabridged addition also includes plenty of original illustrations, a short biography of the author and a full printing history of the book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2007
In the first three books about the Carr family, Clover is very much always in the shadow of her elder sister. Here, she is the focus of much of the book. The tale of Katy's marriage is handled quickly, then the story line focuses on Clover taking care of her brother on a trip to the west. The scenery is described vividly, as are some of the characters that we meet - including cousin Clarence, encountered in 'What Katy did at School'. This rather eyestretching coincidence is the weakest part of the book, but doesn't detract from my enjoyment one bit. This edition, illustrated with pencil drawings and beautifully printed, adds to the enjoyment - although I share most of my books, this one is definitely staying with me! If you enjoyed the earlier three books about Katy and the Carrs, then you'll also love this one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2003
Clover is the fourth book in the What Katy Did series. I have yet to meet anyone in person who knows of this books existence and I am lucky enough to have a copy for myself. For anyone who loves the Katy series this book is a must. The beginning covers the preparation for Katy's wedding and then moves to a near-tradegy that requires Clover to leave the family and travel thousands of miles to Colorado Springs. The story is well-told, Rose Red makes an appearance and also manages to have the last word, and best (or worst) of all - the story doesn't end. It sets events perfectly for the fifth and final book (that I know of!) - In the High Valley.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2003
I remember this book from my childhood, and am frantically searching for a copy, I too have not met anyone in the flesh who has heard of it, and very few even on line. It is a must read for any Katy fan. A wonderful story which like all good books makes you feel 'with' the characters. I am so glad it is being reprinted for 2004, I shall be ordering a copy. Many thanks to Erin of New Zealand as I had never heard of book 5, and this is now on my all time wish list. Please reprint this one too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)