Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed Brian's story and in particular his unequivocal honesty.
I was more interested in reading about him after watching the recent documentary 'I Believe in Miracles' , as I was only just born when they won the UEFA Cup double.
An unbelievable character and his approach to the beautiful game was extraordinarily simple.
It seems Brian's success has been used as an example to other managers, particularly Alex Ferguson to go on and become legendary managers also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
Some sports stars are lauded for their humility (Bobby Moore and Jonny Wilkinson spring to mind), whilst others are brash and mouthy. Only a very select few actually have the hutzpah necessary to take their oversized ego and use it to provide a great deal of success and entertainment. Clough had this on a level to rival another sporting great of the era, Muhammad Ali, and puts it to great use with this excellent book.

What Clough achieved in football is unparalleled. To take two small clubs to league titles is one thing, but back-to-back champions of Europe with Nottingham Forest is the stuff of legends (a sadly overused word these days). This book is a great account of how he did it, and if he is deemed arrogant - he deserves to be. For it is not only the incredible accomplishments he achieved in football that make his career so remarkable, but that he did it the right way. He didn't resort to route one football nor parking the bus, and hated to see referees criticized. A must read for genuine football fans, we may very well never see his like again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I enjoyed this book, even though I am a Wolves fan. Mr Clough led a colourful and vibrant life, all of which is reflected in this entertaining read. The stories of how he built up both Derby and Forest were illuminating and funny, especially the Peter Taylor tales that litter the book - ensuring that their split later on comes over as sad and unnecessary. Funnily enough this book has dated a lot - especially regarding gay players, managerial power and, most of all, where player contracts are concerned. I had to laugh when Mr Clough complained about Stuart Pearce wanting a pay rise to £4,000 per week! How on earth would Mr Clough have coped with the sums the players earn today? Lastly this book was a great reminder of how it was once possible for a relatively small club to mix it with the big boys, sadly a time that has gone forever, due to the concept of the Premier league.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Read this in the original hardback. An entertaining easy read. His views on Justin Fashanu and on Hillsborough would get him more ostracized than Ron Atkinson if this book came out today though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
I read this last year and it is highly entertaining, particularly his thoughts on his brief tenure with Leeds, and the venom with which he attacks Don Revie on TV and elsewhere.

What shines through for me are two key aspects.

One his love for his family and absolute respect for his mother, hence the mangle quite rightly takes pride of place in his front room. I assume he liked being reminded of his roots and where he came from everyday, who knows.

Two his unyielding hatred for cheating and dishonesty.

I was also concerned that he mentions someone threw a cup of scalding hot tea over his son Nigel. What sort of idiot would do that - boiling water can blind as well as burn. I hope the individual concerned reflected on his actions and apologised, theres no room for jealousy of any sort in a successful football team.

I can remember as a boy watching both the Nottingham Forest European Cup wins on the telly with my Dad in West Yorkshire. The full achievements of Brian Clough prior to this were therefore interesting to read as I didn't really start following football until this point.

I'd be keen to see the like again, but I doubt we will.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2001
As a younger reader I was interseted to find out how good Cloughie was as a player, and he doesn't mind telling you. Ol' big 'ead lives up to his name but there is no way you can argue the facts.
Nobody can and probably never will be able to say that they were as good at what they did in football as this man. Classic stories of the partnership he had with Peter Taylor, his initial summary of John Robertson, and his descriptions of 'hairy arsed' defenders and alike create brilliant humour mixed up with his strong views toward directors and the way in which clubs should be run contrive to make a book of excellent reading.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2002
If you expect a Clough autobiography to be opinionated you will not be disappointed. Clough sums up his career and philosophy well and with humour. As a player and a manager he always had supreme belief in himself and that attitude comes across well in this book. He pulls no punches when he talks about the "cheats" at Leeds, his assessment of John Robertson is spot-on, he describes his parting with Peter Taylor honestly and takes you on up to relegation and his retiring.
I'm a Forest supporter so whilst I never expected not to enjoy this book I still found it hard to put down. Brian Clough IS a football genius. Forest and Derby fans know it. Once you've read this you'll be in no doubt that Brian Clough knows it too.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2010
i have read a few football autobiographies and am getting a small collection of some of the game's great characters and this is by far the best book and greatest character i have come across to date .the man is so entertaining and full of himself but he is so right in his methods and madness ,there will never be another like him , his family must be so proud of his quest's and miss him so very much . thanks for the brilliant read old big head you were footballs greatest character without doubt and close to being the greatest manager also.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Read this when it was first published. I still have it. It is an excellent book, and takes us through Clough's childhood, his upbringing, his time as a player, and his career as a football manager. It is interesting to read how he fell out with Peter Taylor, and the way he treated players if they had lost a game or if he disagreed with them. He could be very hard, but he also had a soft side, plus a strong sense of justice. He never forgot his basic upbringing, and was never afraid to voice his opinions. For all that, he was respected as a football manager.

The book ends with Brian realising he has an alcohol problem and says "I will beat it"! Sadly, he didn't. but for all that, it is a very entertaining read. I suspect that people who are not football fans would also want this book in their collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
In a bland and sterile sports world where some autobiographies appear when the average sports stars life has hardly begun, I found this a masterpiece. It was refreshing to hear about life as it was from Clough; his personal and family life as richly appreciated by him as the many successes in his career. It revealed a depth to the Clough the manager by being given an insight into his life growing up in the North East. The stories and escapades in the book were a constant source of amusement whether in or out of football. However the book isn't just an account of laddism and laughs. It also charts Clough's attitude to football and his opinions on the players who brought success to Derby County and Notts Forrest. For fans of a certain age, this will be rivetting stuff. For those brought up on Sky hyperbole it may suprise those use to what Clough called 'blackbores.' In summary a classic autobiography which covers all the various touchpoints of Clough's life and will keep anyone from any era entertained.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse