FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Claudius: Historical Fict... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Claudius: Historical Fiction (Roman Trilogy 2) Paperback – 24 Jun 2010

4.5 out of 5 stars 26 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£2.79 £0.01
Audio CD
"Please retry"
£32.86
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£7.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • Claudius: Historical Fiction (Roman Trilogy 2)
  • +
  • Caligula (Roman Trilogy 1)
  • +
  • Hero of Rome: (Gaius Valerius Verrens 1)
Total price: £25.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Paperback: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Corgi (24 Jun. 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0552162493
  • ISBN-13: 978-0552162494
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 2.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 177,110 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"What stands out are Jackson's superb battle scenes. I lost myself in the riveting depictions of combat, hoping against hope that somehow the British would prevail... I was gripped from start to finish" (Ben Kane, author of The Forgotten Legion)

"Jackson triumphs... If I were Conn Iggulden or Simon Scarrow, I'd be rather worried by the new Scottish kid on the block" (The Scotsman)

"A master of his discipline rightly hailed as one of the best historical novelists writing today" (Daily Express)

Book Description

A gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Being a bit of a geek when it comes to all things Roman, I read Douglas Jacksons first book Caligula and thoroughly enjoyed it not just becasue of the subject but becasue it was different. Rufus the Emperors Elephant trainer is the main character and in this book he returns as the llegions invade Britain.

Claudius is another very good and well written story that captivated me from the first page. It reflects some of the history that occured especially with the Emperors two week visit to Britain, where he papraded through Colchester triumphantly on an elephant.

If you are interested in this topic, I have no doubt whatsoever that you would enjoy this book, the predessor and his new book about the trials of a Roman Tribune in Britian. Excellent author and story teller that stays true to historic accuracy.
Comment 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I read Douglas first book Calligula and was gripped from the first chapter. Rufus is a believable and engaging character and I was quickly hooked on his adventures. The second book, Claudius, continues his life in ancient Britain along side the Roman Legions invading Britain, it's gritty and obviously extremely well researched. I settled back, with Rufus and his elephant and enjoyed the adventure immensely. I can only hope that Douglas continues to write his stories and goes from strength to strength. I look forward to his next and hope Rufus will ride again. Good old fashioned escapism.
3 Comments 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Whilst a secondary novel to the original (Caligula) this offering does look back on the previous novel as we're told about the events by the slave, Rufus. As with the first offering, its well written, the character pretty likable and with the odd look in from the title character to share points of view it's a tale that pretty much wends its own way through history. Good fun, action packed and with an elephant, who could ask for more?
Comment 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
What a wonderful book!!! Have read all Douglas Jacksons' books and he really can keep you glued to it. You will be reading this and saying to yourself " just one more page" its that kind of book. Great book and writer!!!
1 Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Following Douglas Jackson's "Caligula", "Claudius" is a masterpiece of well researched, historically accurate and compelling story telling. Anybody who has an interest in either Roman history or early Britain will appreciate the insight into a time clouded in mystery. Not only a very good read but informative too.
Comment 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
#2 in the(only two-part)trilogy.The author gets into his stride in this tale of Claudius' invasion of Britain.Fast-paced,it puts much needed flesh on the bones of a shadowy part of history.
P.445 has the words "Memento mori-remember thou art mortal" whispered in the Emperor's ear during his triumph. I prefer the Quo Vardis version "Respice te, hominem te memento" ("Look behind you, remember you are only a man"). Sadly until Dr Who loans us the Tardis we shall ever know if either is correct.
Highly recommended reading.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I would recommend reading the first book in the series (Caligula) before reading Claudius. Looking at this period of roman history through the eyes of an animal trainer created both an interesting perspective and an enjoyable series.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Once I stated to read this book I could not put it down, This is absolutely close to Roman history, you feel you are there. Brilliant.
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback