Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
21


on 10 January 2017
Absolutely wonderful. The natural and perfect companion to Ms.Sahni's 'Classic Indian Vegetarian Cooking'

So comprehensive. accessibly written by such a straight-forward. experienced cook. I very much enjoy cooking. Indian included. Every dish made under her instruction has worked perfectly.

Pure text. No photographs.
All I have read by her has been very good indeed
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2013
I've started working with the recipes as inspiration for cooking ideas, more than just the recipes themselves. The book lends itself to experimentation, which Indian cuisine also encourages.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2012
Bought this book on the recommendations of others, i havent been disappointed.

nicely set out - easy to read and follow.

Showed my mum, she also loved the book, was lucky not to lose it :)

only thing this misses, are some photos, i like to see what i am aiming for and how close i get to it. ;o)

i would recommend this to anyone who loves indian cooking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 1999
Although the sheer volume of the book is daunting at first, don't panic. My husband and I found Sahni's cookbook to be very well-written, and the recipes are delicious! I will agree with one other reviewer though, and say that Madhur Jaffrey's _Indian Cooking_ might also be a worthwhile buy since her recipes are a little less complicated. But definitely try Sahni's once you get some experience! Her book on vegetarian and grain cooking is also excellent, even if you are not vegetarian.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2013
This book is quite old now, you can tell from the thinsg she says and from the pictures used. The good thing about the book is the recipes. They are both simple, effective and make the most delicious indian food without having to go out of your way for special ingredients, although there's plenty of scope for these too. If you are just a fan of indian cuisine and want one definitive book on the subject, this could be the one for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2013
I'm into everything Indian at the minute and this book does everything to keep my interest alive. Great book. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2015
good book and quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2010
I haven't read Jaffrey's books yet, but to date, this is by far the best one I've read on Indian cookery. The instructions are incredibly clear. For example, some books would tell you to 'brown the cumin seeds for some time', whereas Julie Sahni tells you to 'brown the seeds for about ten seconds', which is very useful information. Each recipe is accompanied by a description of its origins, and at the end of each recipe she advises on how to store the food and whether it freezes well, which is a point that a lot of books don't cover. Every Sunday I prepare two dishes from this book which I then eat each day at work. It costs me around £5. My favourite recipe so far is the cauliflower, peas and potatoes in spiced herb sauce. It's an absolute doddle to make, all in one pot, cheap, quick, not much chopping, and the flavour is divine.

One small qualm: some of the recipes specify an unfathomable amount of usli ghee (Indian style fat that smells like sick), but with common sense one can adjust accordingly. These are authentic recipes, and most Indians are more needy of fatty, salty food than us westerners.

In summary, I highly recommend this book.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 August 1998
This book is a goldmine of information about Indian cooking. From how to select and grind your own spices to a wide variety of recipes. And with the author's personal anecdotes thrown in too. There are easy recipes, and complex recipes, but all are fun to prepare due to the author's detailed instructions. Everything I've tried has been wonderful and received rave reviews from my guests!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2001
After many enjoyable years of Maddhur Jaffrey and Pat Chapman this book provides a new slant on Indian cookery. Enjoyed in the United States for 20 years this volume is a new arrival to our shores, and quite frankly is long overdue. Julie Sahnis recipes are superb and she provides a number of variants on the old favorites. Her Butter Chicken has been given a clear "thumbs-up" in our household with its overtones of Tikka-Masala but without the long winded and extensive ingredient list and preparation given in other cookbooks. From a comprehensive guide to the cookware required and basic spice blends, Sahni moves through the appetizers and snacks, main and side dishes, rice and breads, accompaniments and finally deserts, sweetmeats and beverages. A comprehensive cookbook that should be at the right hand of everyone who enjoys Indian cuisine.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)