£11.43
A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £4.44 (30%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£6.99
Kindle price
£11.43
Hardcover price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£4.44 (30%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
  • RRP: £14.99
  • You Save: £3.56 (24%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Clash of Empires has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Clash of Empires Hardcover – 17 May 2018

4.8 out of 5 stars 102 customer reviews
Book 1 of 1 in the Clash of Empires Series

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£11.43
£8.72 £8.80
Promotion Message Prime Students get 10% off on Books 1 promotion

Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Prime Student members get 10% off Books. Enter code STUDENT10 at checkout. Enter code STUDENT10 at checkout. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Frequently bought together

  • Clash of Empires
  • +
  • The Falcon of Sparta: The bestselling author of the Emperor and Conqueror series' returns to the Ancient World
  • +
  • Lancelot
Total price: £32.22
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Orion (17 May 2018)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1409173372
  • ISBN-13: 978-1409173373
  • Product Dimensions: 17 x 3.8 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 102 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 19,922 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

It's a broad canvas Kane is painting on, but he does it with vivid colours and, like the Romans themselves, he can show great admiration for a Greek enemy and still kick them in the balls (Robert Low, author of the Oathsworn series)

Exceptional. Kane's excelled once again in capturing the terror and the glory . . . of the ancient battlefield, and this story is one that's been begging for an expert hand for a long time (Anthony Riches, author of the Empire series)

Carried off with panache and Kane's expansive, engaging, action-packed style. A complex, fraught, moving and passionate slice of history from one of our generation's most ambitious and engaging writers. (Manda Scott, author of the Boudica series)

Grabs you from the start and never lets go. Thrilling action combines with historical authenticity to summon up a whole world in a sweeping tale of politics and war. A triumph! (Harry Sidebottom, author of the THE LAST HOUR)

The word epic is overused to describe books, but with Clash of Empires it fits like a gladius in its scabbard. What Kane does, with such mastery, is place the big story - Rome vs Greece - in the background, while making this a story about ordinary men caught up in world-defining events. Men bonded by friendship and blood. Some seeking acceptance or honour or revenge. A few grasping for power and glory, but most ultimately just trying to stay alive. I for one was fascinated by the differing tactics, fighting styles and weapons, as represented by the Roman cohort and the Greek phalanx. Or, as exhibited close up and personal in the flashing melee of the gladius and pike. These contrasts seemed to speak, with horrific eloquence, of the slaughter of the classical world of Homer and Alexander. In short, I haven't enjoyed a book this much for ages.
There aren't many writers today who could take on this story and do it well. There might be none who could do it better than Ben Kane.

(Giles Kristian, author of LANCELOT)

Ben Kane manages to marry broad narrative invention with detailed historical research . . . in taut, authoritative prose . . . his passion for the past, and for the craft of story-telling, shines from every page of Clash of Empires (Toby Clements, author of the Kingmaker series)

Fans of battle-heavy historical fiction will, justly, adore Clash of Empires. With its rounded historical characters and fascinating historical setting, it deserves a wider audience (Antonia Senior The Times)

This thrilling series opener delivers every cough, spit, curse and gush of blood to set up the mighty clash of the title. Can't really fault this one - pure man joy. (Jon Wise WEEKEND SPORT)

A powerful and vivid historical novel that moves along at chariot-race speed. (Helena Gumley-Mason THE LADY)

Ben Kane's new series explores the bloody final clash between ancient Greece and upstart Rome, focusing on soldiers and leaders from both worlds and telling the story of a bloody war with style (Charlotte Heathcote Sunday Express S Magazine)

Book Description

HAS ROME FINALLY MET ITS MATCH? Clash Of Empires is the gripping first historical novel in a new series from the Sunday Times bestselling author - for fans of Simon Scarrow, Harry Sidebottom, Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

11 June 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
21 June 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
6 June 2018
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?