Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 20 May 2012
Brilliant book, clean and sleek. Good, useful and interesting information.

I'm a student studying Film making and this book has been quite useful to refer to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
This book was recommended to me by a director/cinematographer and I am grateful for it. The book offers knowledge on the art of cinematography and it is written for directors and cinematographers alike. The author talks about all aspects of film making, from directing to camera operating to lighting and troubleshooting on set. It is written in an engaging way and uses lots of photos as examples and has a fantastic technical section written in layman terms. This book is an absolute must have for all budding film makers.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
essential reading for anyone wanting a bit of 'know how' - clear text and great illustrations, if your a student this is essential reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2003
This excellent book should be mandatory reading for everybody who's about to make a short film. Having watched hundreds, if not thousands, of short films in recent years, I know that would-be directors are so keen to be original, that they make their first few films without having the first clue about film-making. Cinematography (Blain Brown) provides the reader with the technical knowledge required to communicate with a director of photgraphy, to create a story through images. Beautifully illustrated, it's a concise presentation of the basic principles behind shooting a film. Many amateurs assume that cinematography is either 'getting the camera right' (exposure, focus etc), or 'setting up pretty shots' (composition, framing etc.) Thankfully, this book shows how much more is involved. It explains everythign so clearly you only need to read it once, but you'll probably use it as a refence manual from time to time.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2016
This is just the book you are looking for if you're into film-making.

I know this, because it was just what I was looking for, for much the same reason probably as you!

I have some certified training in TV & Film production, have some experience making short movies, but often felt like I didn't fully understand everything I was trying to do. On low (or 'no') - budget productions one doesn't have the luxury of hiring DoPs etc., so one has to do many of the jobs oneself - a lot to take on at the same time.

This book gives you just enough information on the main aspects of film making. It has excellent chapters on basic lighting set-ups and techniques, principles of editing, optics and colouring and so on. It also covers core concepts such as 'filmspace' and 'the line of action' that every film maker, no matter what they're shooting their film on, ought to be aware of. It also has sections describing the most popular film-making equipment, lights, cranes and so on, which makes for very interesting reading even if much of this equipment will be beyond the pocket of the average indie film-maker. At least you know what's available, if you can afford it and it gives you a good understanding of how some shots were probably achieved!

If you read this book before making your movie, you will avoid some very common mistakes beginner film-makers make!

Another great advantage of this book is that it is written in a very clear, easy to follow style. Some film books seem to assume that you are already familiar with all the terms after they gloss over them, and after a while you find yourself progressively more lost in jargon. Not so here - not only is the language very easy to understand, the author provides plenty of concrete examples, pictures and diagrams to make the ideas clear. This is a book by a man who not only knows the film industry very well, but also how to explain it to a beginner.

One down side is that trying to cover so much ground in a short space inevitably means some topics don't get as full a treatment as some people might like. For example, people who are only interested in knowing a lot more about lighting may find the chapter on lighting good in that it gives the basic ideas and set ups, but not detailed enough for their requirements. This book gives a flavour of as many topics as a film-maker needs to know, you can always supplement it with further reading (I believe the author has another book as well dedicated solely to lighting). But it is a superb starting point, well worth the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
This book is great. Granted I'm quite new to cinematography, but for a beginner looking to progress into more areas of filmmaking, such as thinking more about lighting, framing, camera movement etc, it's answering a lot of questions. It's well written, to the point, accessible and genuinely interesting for someone with a slight obsession with film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
Ok, don't get me wrong this is a good book, but in some of the descriptions aren't so great. Just small examples like this, in the book it tells us the use of, and I quote " Horizontals, Verticals and Diagonals: The basic lines are always a factor in almost any type of compositions. Nearly infinite in variety, they always come back to the basics: horizontal, vertical and diagonal. Lines may be explicit, as in these shots from Seven Samurai or implied in the arrangement of objects." ... Ok so where in that passage does it tell us what lines are used for to give any meaning to the composition? I had to check other sources on the internet to get an explanation. It also makes a mistake in the book such as "Kurosawa consistently uses very long lenses to form compositions and character relationships that would not be apparent with a normal or wide lenses. He also employs a small f/stop for deep focus" ahem, a small f/stop for deep focus? Eh no, you use a "high" f/stop for deep focus. He might have meant you need a small aperture for deep focus. But still some people who wouldn't know the answer to that would be truly confused. So far I am only half way in the book and I still enjoy reading it. Don't get me wrong it still has lots of good information, but there some descriptions that lack information and in this case, incorrect! I still recommend this book though since I still have learned a great amount considering its downfalls but be expected to do a lot of research outside of the book to really understand some techniques that this book mentions
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Cinematography is a rare mix of art and science, and concerns the craft of designing each shot. While the director of a film will suggest what the shot looks like, the cinematographer has many creative tools in his arsenal to design each shot.

This book covers such tools. Many areas are included, from lighting to lenses to aspect ratios, to name a few, and although the discussion can at times get dense and technical, Blain Brown explains everything very well and all the concepts are backed up with pictures or diagrams. The scope of the book is impressive; it contains everything to do with cinematography. I read it cover to cover, but it would function just as well as a reference book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Delivered quickly and had all the info I need as a beginner in film making and went well with my other purchases on film making
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Absolutely invaluable for anybody interested in Cinematography. Once you start to read, it is vastly difficult to stop. The DVD included is brilliant, it explains lighting in a way that you can absolutely understand in the most basic way. The book was in great condition upon arrival and came very quickly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)