Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
41
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.00


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2017
I have been re-reading the entire Leo Waterman series prior to going on to Salvation Lake, the newest to date. I rattled through this book in a very short time, partly because some of the parts involving the bad guys were very unpleasant and I basically skimmed over those as fast as I could. It's a good entry in the canon - nice to see Leo make use of some of his wealth! - and for those who noted the inconsistency in the previous book of Leo claiming to never use firearms, well, let's just say he's over that! There are still one or two moments when I wondered if the author had read the earlier books himself lately, mainly down to the sudden appearance of two new characters who are supposed to have been long time friends of Leo's but never appeared before. One is the son of another character who *did* appear in previous books but who was never mentioned, yet now he's apparently a childhood friend. But the one that seemed most jarring is a cop. In pretty much all the previous books, it was made clear that Leo, unlike most PIs, did not have any good friends in the PD. Still, none of this really detracts from the story and if you haven't read all the books straight through, one after another, you probably wouldn't notice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
This is the first Leo Waterman I've read- and will certainly be coming back for more. Love the dialogue: spare in style and some funny quotes. Not sure about how seriously to take his side-kicks, but they allow the writer to show the main character's personality and provide some amusing situations
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
As always - GM Ford's Leo Waterman Mystery's are a very good read. I have read nearly all of these books. Unfortunately once I start to read them I find it hard to put down until finished! More of the same please.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
First, the negatives.........
The characters are very derivative:
1) The hero is an all-round nice guy with a past, who champions the oppressed "small guy" against small-town-America bullies and thugs despite no self-interest and survives all manner of attacks and injuries in the true "with one bound he was free" tradition.
2) The love interest is a"tart with a heart" (perhaps that's a bit harsh!), world-weary, independent small-town woman with a business and a core of steel.
3) There's a young sidekick who makes a fatal mistake but has a journey of redemption throughout the novel.
4) The good guys are good and the bad guys are, well, bad - very bad in some instances. There's very little light and shade in the characterisation.
There's serious problem with the plot at the conclusion of the main storyline - I can't believe that the appropriate suthorities would have been taken in by the deception attempted upon them - technically, it can't be as easy as that, but there's in indication as to how much research was conducted by the author in that particular field - (I can't go into greater detail without spoiling the novel for future readers).
However, despite the above, I loved it. It rattled along in fluid style and at a fair old pace and I found it hard to put down, even reading until the small hours in one instance - surely the sign of a good page-turner.
It's got its tongue firmly in its cheek but is none the worse for that and I shall definitely be sampling more Leo Waterman.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Enjoyed story but American references made it hard to follow storyline at times. If you can cope with this fine
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2014
All the Leo Waterman mysteries are well worth reading.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
This book's hero is a likeable PI who is drawn into a mystery when his neighbour's house appears to be broken into.

Most of the dialogue is light hearted and it whizzes along at a fair pace. The tale is linear without twists and turns and the baddies are very bad, as well as highlighted early in the book - so not much mystery. When the dark secret is uncovered the nastiness of the crimes are laid bare but not overly dramatised or dwelt on at length. I really enjoyed reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Good to have Leo back but this almost strays into Robert R Parker territory with the goodie going into baddie country with a big stick for stirring though thankfully it relies on brain power rather than guns to make the story progress. The sub plot of helping out an idiot of a young cop is a bit contrived but generally an excellent read. Sad not to see more of the gang of winos but you cannot have everything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Why can`t more writers take a leaf out of this one He is absolutely brilliant His books go everywhere I do and I have my head stuck in them from start to finish without a break. Great writer !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2015
Leo is back. The story starts slowly, but builds up to a very- Western style middle and ending. a la Clint Eastwood in his Italian Western days.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse