Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Amazon Music Unlimited subscribers can play 40 million songs, thousands of playlists and ad-free stations including new releases. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Christoph Graupner: Chalu... has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid UK postcode.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99

Christoph Graupner: Chalumeaux - Concertos, Ouvertures & Sonatas Hybrid SACD

Price: £15.78 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Hybrid SACD, 25 Jun 2012
£7.80 £10.53
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
AutoRip is available only for eligible CDs and vinyl sold by Amazon EU Sarl (but does not apply to gift orders or PrimeNow orders). See Terms and Conditions for full details, including costs which may apply for the MP3 version in case of order returns or cancellations.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
19 new from £7.80 1 used from £10.53

Amazon's Ars Antiqua Austria Store

Product details

  • Orchestra: Ars Antiqua Austria
  • Conductor: Gunar Letzbor
  • Composer: Christoph Graupner
  • Audio CD (25 Jun. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Challenge Classics
  • ASIN: B0081VMIMS
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 393,360 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Concerto for 2 Chalumeaux, 2 Violis. Viola and Harpsichord in C major GWV 303, I. Vivace
  2. II. Andante
  3. III. Allegro
  4. Sonata for Harpsichord obligato and Violin in G minor GWV 709, I. Largo
  5. II. Allegro
  6. III. Andante
  7. IV. Vivace
  8. Ouverture for 3 Chalumeaux, 2 Violis. Viola and Hrpsichord in F major GWV 449, I. ( )
  9. II. Allegro
  10. III. Bergerie
  11. IV. Air
  12. V. Le Desire
  13. VI. Rejourissance
  14. VII. La Speranza amorosa
  15. VIII. Menuet
  16. Sonata for Harpsichord and Violin in G major GWV 711, I. Largo
  17. II. Presto
  18. III. Largo
  19. IV. Menuet

Product description

Product Description

The German Christoph Graupner (1683-1760) is considered to be one of the most important composers for the chalumeau, a now largely forgotten instrument related to the clarinet. This Hybrid SACD from the renowned early music group Ars Antiqua Austria includes several of Graupner's pieces for this rarely recorded instrument.

The chalumeau was probably developed in the late 17th century by the Nuremberg instrument builder and inventor of the clarinet, Johann Christoph Denner. A forerunner of the clarinet, the two instruments existed alongside each other during the 18th century, and it was not until the late Baroque era that the clarinet became more popular and the chalumeau slowly disappeared from the musical scene.

Ars Antiqua Austria was founded in Linz in 1995 with the aim of introducing audiences to the roots of Austrian baroque music played on period instruments. The core of Ars Antiqua Austria comprises 8 musicians directed by Gunar Letzbor. The ensemble is readily augmented to accommodate a still wider repertoire. Previous recordings by Ars Antiqua Austria on Challenge Classics include discs devoted to the music of Charles Mouthon, Karl Kohaut and Johann Joseph Fux.

Personnel: Ars Antiqua Austria, Gunar Letzbor (conductor)

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?