Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2008
The Tao has always been one of my favourites. Never to be flipped through like a novel but a page at a time and some inner contemplation. A quiet place indoors or outdoors with a bit of sunshine and nature at your feet [no motorway sounds]. I, like some other purchasers, have given this book to many as a gift and some of these in turn have imitated and passed on the gift therein. I like this flowing translation and have read a couple of others - some of whom like to stick closer to the literal translation. The deviation from the literal to this edition is carried out with the hand and mind of a master who exhibits a true understanding of the way.

I always wanted a hardcover copy of this book and purchased this one. Sorry but I do have one problem with this and that is - the paper quality and the book binding does let it down but - hey if this is the only criticism I have then yippee. If you think about it maybe printing onto recycled paper is the ONLY way to go with this masterpiece! Enjoy over and over and over and drive yourself crazy when you mislay your copy or lose friends by lending and not getting it back ! If they are indeed a true friend buy them their own copy ! They'll love you forever !

Highly recommended !
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
This translation was recommended by Eckart Tolle in one of his talks as being one of two he feels captures the original thoughts/images behind the words. (Sorry can't remember the other translator). Book is small (smaller than a normal paperback) but with some colour illustrations as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2017
Full of wisdom, a must read. I wanted a smaller version of the Tao Te Ching translated by Stephen Mitchell so I could carry the book around all the time in my bag. This is just what this book is: it has kept the layout of the hardback alongside the lovely illustrations but in a smaller version. I would highly recommend if you like reading the Tao's widsom at random times during the day as this book is so easy to carry around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
This is a very good translation; the language is 'colourful' and poetic reminiscent of the Victorian English of Charles Dickens. Amazon does not say who the actual translator is, I imagine it could be Paul Carus, or at least strongly based on his version, which has been very popular with Taoist scholars for many decades. This Kindle version shows that a 'Free Audio book' version is also available, though it does not mention who the reader is; I tried unsuccessfully to download this. However, fortunately I was able to purchase a word-for-word audio MP3 version by Emma Topping from the amazon.co.uk Digital Music store for only 99p ... this is very good, Emma Topping has a very pleasant voice and is an excellent reader. I am very happy with this Kindle version, especially as I have quick reference to Kindle's dictionary facility for those 'lesser-used' words that appear here and there in the book. The book and MP3 are excellent value at very nice price.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
Mitchell's New English Version is the fourth and most enjoyable to read translation that i have been fortunate enough to encounter. Fresh, Vibrant and full of depth it has captured what i understand to be the essence of daoism most beautifully.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Nothing like a short simple book you can re-read over and over and each time you find a new meaning you can apply in practice in daily life!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
Enlightening uplifting, and profound insight into life as we know it and life how we should know it. Be a Sage :0)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Wonderful book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2015
The Tao Te Ching is an exquisite philosophical poem that grows in understanding the more you read it. The words travel straight to the heart. This version is beautifully illustrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
The best Tau Te Ching Translation and Dust Jacket. I have bought about 4 for myself as I keep giving them away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse