Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2017
great value for money my grandson loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Just as you would expect from Dorling Kindersley, this is a top quality book and if it hadn't been called 'Children's' I would have happily accepted it as an adult book. Yes, the language is totally appropriate to children but I think many adults would enjoy learning the basics of many sports as presented here. There is just enough information to whet the appetite and to ensure a basic knowledge when watching sport. Divided into sections such as team sports, combat sports and wheels and motors, each sport is covered in a two page spread. There are lots of less-common sports included too. Packed with colour pictures (and some exceptional action photography), useful diagrams and explanations on rules, tactics and techniques, this is all you need. Finally, a section on the Olympics makes this a super book to give as a gift in the period leading up to the Games. A winner!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
My child bought this book for his School Library. He was the 1st one in line to borrow it, as he loves all sort of sports. He said that it is a great book, easy to read and very informative.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I brought this book for my 6 year old who loves and enjoys most sports. Anytime he hears a new sport he now reads up on it & has just learnt all about the sports in the up coming Winter Olympics. Superb
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This was a gift for a nephew that I don't see very often, so I don't know how well it has gone down (he'd probably have preferred a toy). I liked the way that the sports were arranged in categories but it wasn't just the obvious sports that were included, there are an enormous range.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
A well-illustrated introduction to a plethora of sports which pleased my 10 year old grandson. A strange criticism maybe, but I marked it down slightly because of the actual weight of the book which will be a heavy tome in small hands.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
For a 11 year old with a great interest in sports, this seemed the ideal present.
It gives a good insight into a wide variety of sports, and will be a valuable tool
for him when participating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
As you would expect from DK .... a well laid out book with great pictures and information on a wide variety of sports. Have given it as a birthday present for lots of my sons friends aged 8/9.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
Excellent source to introduce any type of sports for my son who will be starting secondary this year. He's not a sporty type, except swimming, and this book seems to have all the necessary info to help him understand the basics of any sports that he will do later.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Interesting and well laid-out. Loads of information, accessible to children. My 6 and 9 year old boys both absolutely love it, especially the extreme sports section.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here