Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
167
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 July 2005
This third book in the fantastic "Noughts and Crosses" trilogy proves to be a tense and thought-provoking conclusion. If you have read and enjoyed the previous two novels in Malorie Blackman's much-acclaimed series, "Noughts and Crosses" and "Knife Edge", then there is absolutely no doubt that you will love "Checkmate" too. The story follows "Nought" (white) Callum and "Cross" (black) Sephy's mixed-race daughter Callie Rose as she grows up and discovers all about her disturbing past, while struggling to fit in in a severely prejudiced society. Blackman really manages to move the reader and sustain interest throughout the novel, and I for one continuously wished for racist attitudes to be wiped from the planet as I was reading this book. I was so engrossed in the story that I found myself finishing the novel within a day of purchasing it, which undoubtedly speaks for itself. As in "Noughts and Crosses" and "Knife Edge", the plot is disturbing and touching, and if you have read either of the afore-mentioned novels, you will not have discovered everything about Callum and Sephy's story until you have devoured the final page of the brilliant "Checkmate". I highly recommend this book for teenagers and adults alike.
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2005
This book is one of the best I've ever read. It is the third in a fantastic trilogy, about racial prejudice. It's an emotional rollercoaster, telling the story of the childhood of Callie Rose, daughter of Persephone. Callie Rose is a sixteen-year-old girl, commonly deregarded by society because she has a white, or blanker, father. The plot is original and gripping, and the emotion is breathtaking. This book was long awaited after the impressive 'Noughts and Crosses'and 'Knife Edge' from earlier on in the series, which show Sephy and Callum (Callie's father) growing up, and showing the extent of the prejudice.
This really is an amazing book, and i don't want to say any more about it for fear of giving away some of the plot, but it's a stunning novel, and i really would advise it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2005
What can i say? Totally amazing- unsuspected tragedy at the end proves the final touch. Could n't have been written better. An amaziong author. To start with the story seems a bit slow and tennager-esce, but it soon picks up pace and resumes the grip to which blackman continuously drives her readers. This book shows sephy struggling ot communicate with her teenage daughter, callie rose- who is confused, doesn't read people very well and is determined and stubborn-a perfect mix of sephy and callum-she also has the grounding and deep saddness that callum owned. This book shows sephy trying to move on with her life but moving away from her daughter- meanwhile jude makes his apeearance by guiding callie away from the path her mother has rightfully laid. The main storyline is a confrontation of sephy and her daughter and jasmine and jude-both which have climaxes. It is agreat end to the trilogy and couldn't have ended another way.
There are talks of checkmate being banned due to its connections with suicidal bombing-which i believe there is no cleaer written evidence of-it is uninfluencial in that way and has no reason to be discriminated against. It is an amzing and deeply knowledgeale read. Amazingly written.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2006
I loved this book. Couldn't put it down. After reading the first to i thought this might be disappointing but i was wrong!! It is without a doubt the best in the series. Sephy's just had Callie rose and is coping with being a mother... then she receives a letter written from callumn when he was in prison. The letter is full of hatred and disgust, after reading it sephy's life instantly falls apart. Callie rose asks her too many questions about her dad and every time sephy tells herself that she'll tell callie the truth "next time" but next time becomes to many and before long its too late...

Callie rose loves her mum but doesn't understand what's going on. Why does nana meggie look at her mum like that? Why doesn't mum ever hug her? ...slowly callie ross find out the truth about her past her mums past and her dads with a little help from jude. Jude tells her the truth - always - she trusts jude. As she gets older her and shephy grow apart. They stop talking and it's too late to mend.

Nana Jasmine tries to help but the prospect of it working is low...

Nana Meggie made a mistake; she said something hurtful and spiteful now nobody's life will be the same, and she can't seem to take it back...

Jude has appeared and without anyone knowing is talking to callie rose and trying successfully to turn her against her mother, any cross and into the l.m...

The most gripping book i've ever read. i loved it. Very powerful and simply beautifull. Malorie Blackman is one of the best authors of our time
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2005
I thought that this book was excellently written and an exceptionally enjoyable read. Checkmate really captures the imagination from the first page. It is a rollercoaster of a book, taking the reader through a whirlwind of different emotions. The turmoil that Callie Rose endures as she grows up is particularly well portrayed.
This book is a fabulous end to a fantabulous trilogy. Malorie Blackman is one of the finest writers in the world today! I know that this is supposed to be the end of the trilogy but I really feel that there is more mileage in this series. Write some more Malorie!
The Noughts and Crosses trilogy is a daring and wildly imaginative concept which has been brilliantly realised by a fantastically talented writer.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2005
If you like bad guys, this is the book for you!
Apart from the Sephy/Callum story that still dominates this book, there is one character who is to die for.
His name? Jude.
Just read the book- it's brilliant.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
again enjoyable read, the story develops further but main issue is still struggle between mum and daughter and all family members involved. Not knowing where she belongs to, Sephy's daughter is looking for a meaning in her life and that almost ends dramatically
nothing new compared with 2 first books, but still it's nice and interesting to read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2005
Sephy is back along with Callie, Meggie, and a bunch of new characters in the third book of the Noughts and Crosses triology.
Sephy's daughter Callie Rose is growing up, half Nought, half Cross in an unfair, Cross ruling society. The older Callie gets, the more she wants to learn about her roots. A mysterious figure from the past is soon going to turn Callie's world upside down, and every time they meet, Callie is digging herself a deeper hole that only her mum can get her out of.
Soon Callie and Sephy's relationship is falling apart. Secrets, strange excuses, will they ever make up?
I thought this book was superb! It had a good variety of feeling toward the characters. Sadness love and hope play a big part in this moving and unforgettable story. I would most definitly give it 5 stars. Its' just so exciting, at times depressing, and loveable all at once. Highly recommended!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2005
Malorie Blackman has to be the most unpredictable writer. Instead of a fairy-tale ending when everyone is happy, she gives a realistic, but still shocking plot ideas. There are no wizards, trolls or goblins - no just real people who face real problems. This book is mainly about racism however, instead of old stories which portays black people as slaves, it shows them as very stong, rich and sucessful, actually giving white people less rights. A very-thought provoking story, focussing on hope on this last one in the trilogy. It's like a complicated jigsaw puzzle, which eventually fits. There is a lot of love and hatred, but the best bit about these books are the controversial twists which leave the characters in a very sticky conditions. I think everyone should read these books as they inspire the reader to think of a world which is not divided by class. Especially fans of Harry Potter should read this as its much better!(in my not so humble opinion) It's been underated in my opinion although proving very popular with children. Although a word of warning to parents, I would not recommend this book to children under 12 as there are moderate scenes of sex and violence.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2005
When I saw this book with the telltale black and white cover sitting happily on the shelf at my local books store I actually made my friend jump by screaming so loudly. I really had been waiting far too long for this to come out and I wasn't disappointed.
The relationship that is explored between Sephy and her daughter Callie-Rose is one that never settles into a predictable pattern. As the flashbacks fill in holes created by the 14 year time jump from 'Knife-Edge' the characters grow and change with each chapter. It's fantastically controlled by Malorie Blackman as she sculpts each character's lives into a new story with every page.
I was slightly apprehensive when starting the book as I wasn't entirely sure it could live up to the success of the original two books in the trilogy. However, Blackman hasn't let her readers down in the slightest. Cunning twists and turns in the plot kept me eagerly reading until the final page. Although I find it difficult to come to terms with the fact that this is almost definitely the last episode in the series I found it one of the most thought-provoking, well written, cleverly mastered trilogies I've ever read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here