Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2015
A great story with lots of comical bits thrown in for good measure. Like all Peter Mayle's books, they are light hearted and easy to read. Have thoroughly enjoyed all of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
I really enjoy Peter Mayle's books and this was no exception. Its a fun read with lots of action and believable characters. Would have been perfect if I'd been on holiday in France at the time of reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
This is ok though feels very dated now. It’s a threadbare and contrived plot with cardboard characters (especially the female ones) and the dialogue is really poor. For some reason Mayle has a tin ear for dialogue. I mean some of the worst I’ve ever read, 'sweetie'. However, his great strength remains his sense of place. He has an undeniable knack for bringing the South of France alive and making you want to be there. I think he should really stick to writing non-fiction as he is a good prose writer. But he lacks imagination, he has no ear for dialogue and I think he is also a bit lazy to write fiction. The main male character in his novels is essentially always Peter Mayle in thin disguise. In other words, a self-regarding alpha male with good taste for the finer things in life and cat nip to the ladies. Also one big disappointment in this book is how little there is about Cezanne himself. Aix en Provence makes little of its greatest son. And Mayle fails, too, in this regard by simply using Cezanne for his expensive paintings to suit an art heist novel based in Provence. He should have paid homage to Cezanne and not simply use his name in vain. Could do better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2002
Peter Mayle has done it again ! - a beautifully written novel with realistic characters and an enthralling plot with several twists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Although Peters' books are never likely to win a booker prize they will always be an enjoyable read. Chasing Cezzane is no exception.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
lovely french setting for part of book good plot usual easy read from Peter Mayle set a while ago but still worth read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
I do like Mr. Mayle's books. The plot is always just enough to keep one's attention, the characters are uncomplicated but still believable, however it is the main theme of breakfast, lunch and dinner in France that has me rushing for the ferry every time. I do hope that the French restaurant and tourism industries recognise his contribution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
I like Peter Mayle and find his books light and refreshing . This one was OK but not his best . there are several parts of the plot that had sneaked in from other books he has written and I felt that the end was rather abrupt as if he just want to finish the book rather that let it run its natural course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
Excellent story line, fantastic writing. Peter Mayle had me laughing out loud on some of the pages. He is such an amusing writer and, in this case, a really absorbing plot. His writing is usually very amusing and I would, with no hesitation, recommend anything he writes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)