Charles Trenet 'La Mer' -... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Charles Trenet 'La Mer' - A Centenary Tribute - His 27 Finest 1937-1954

4.8 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews
Amazon's Choice recommends highly rated, well-priced products available to dispatch immediately.
Amazon's Choice for "charles trenet cd"

Price: £8.14 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 11 Feb 2013
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
16 new from £6.48

Frequently bought together

  • Charles Trenet 'La Mer' - A Centenary Tribute - His 27 Finest 1937-1954
  • +
  • Cafe De Paris- 50 Grands Succes Francais
  • +
  • Edith Piaf - The Best Of
Total price: £19.58
Buy the selected items together

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Audio CD (11 Feb. 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Retrospective
  • ASIN: B00B7GEY1C
  • Other Editions: Audio CD |  MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,098 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. La Mer
  2. Je Chante
  3. Jardin Du Mois De Mai
  4. J'ai Ta Main
  5. Verlaine
  6. Y'a De La Joie
  7. La Cigale Et La Fourmi (With Django Reinhardt)
  8. La Polka Du Roi
  9. Bonsoir, Jolie Madame
  10. La Vie Qui Va
  11. Le Temps Des Cerises
  12. Vous Oubliez Votre Cheval
  13. Que Reste-T-Il De Nos Amours?
  14. Vous Êtes Jolie
  15. En Écoutant Mon Coeur Chanter
  16. Ah, Dis Ah, Dis Ah, Bonjour!
  17. Marie, Marie
  18. Ménilmontant
  19. Douce France
  20. Quand J'étais P'tit
  21. Mes Jeunes Années
  22. Mam'zelle Clio
  23. L'âme Des Poètes
  24. La Folle Complainte
  25. La Romance De Paris
  26. Vous Qui Passez Sans Me Voir
  27. Boum!

Product description

Product Description

This centenary tribute is the definitive album of the inimitable chanson serenader, with 27 of his finest recordings, headed by the immortal La Mer. The ever-flamboyant Charles Trenet (1913-2001), known fondly as Le fou chantant (The Singing Fool), was singer, songwriter, actor and writer of six novels. He was, along with Chevalier and Piaf, the most celebrated French vocalist of the 20th century. After working pre war with Johnny Hess as the duo Charles et Johnny, he gained huge international success in his lengthy solo career. His poems made natural lyrics, and he wrote more than 500 songs, displaying a gift for melody and instinct for rhythmic emphasis that made him a composer of great imagination and vitality. He possessed a light baritone voice of individual, caressing softness, and impeccable diction together with a mastery of microphone technique. Above all, he had charm. Retrospective s La Mer collates 27 of Trenet s most characteristic numbers, nearly all of them his own compositions. Included are such key songs as his celebrated theme song La Mer, Boum!, Mes jeunes années, which was sung at his funeral, Bonsoir jolie madame, Douce France (almost a second, gentler national anthem), L âmes des poètes (At last! At last!), Que reste-t-il de nos amours? (I wish you love) and the exquisite Vous qui passez sans me voir (Why do you pass me by?). The sequence also includes such fascinating items as a 1941 story of La cigale et la fourmi (The Cicada and the Ant) on which he is accompanied by Django Reinhardt. All the songs reflect his unerring ability to touch the emotions, be they happy (Ah! dis ah! dis ah! bonjour) or sad (Seul depuis toujours).

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 18 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

9 September 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
6 March 2013
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
15 February 2013
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
7 April 2013
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
30 May 2013
Format: MP3 Download|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
18 September 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?