Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 November 2017
this is good film to watch .shame it strayed from the true story some what .the true story was about a captain Nolan who reckoned Calvary could take entrenched gun positions with out support hence the tragic charge to glory .the film it self was colorize and only ever shown once on the BBC in the 70s.king kong the 1936 version was given the same treatment but the difference is you can get that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2011
Don't get me wrong, this film is a pure classic and it's still very good, even today. But the only two things I found disappointing was that only the last 20 minutes was set in the Crimea War and also I thought the ending could have been a lot better. Most of the film is set in India and the story is about a Major (Errol Flynn) who wants his revenge on an Indian rebel, named Surat Khan (C Henry Gordan), who killed his men. The story is great and this what makes this film watchable. Also Errol Flynn yet again does a very good performance as the troubled Major. The film is directed by Hungarian director Michael Curtiz, who directed "Captain Blood" a year before "Charge of the light brigade". "Captain Blood" became a box office hit and this is why Michael Curtiz teamed up with Errol Flynn, for the second time. They also did many other great films together, such as "Robin Hood" and "The Sea Hawk". Olivia De Hailand also stars in this movie and she also starred with Errol Flynn in "Captain Blood". They also did many other big films together, such as "Robin Hood" and "They died with their boots on". The effects are also fantastic, especially the battle finale and also look out for a young David Niven and Nigel Bruce before he was Dr Watson, in Sherlock Holmes mysteries. There is also a 1968 version, but it's definately worth buying this one, because originals are always the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2017
This DVD lasts 115 mins. of which only 9 mins. is devoted the battle. Most of the rest of the DVD is devoted to a romantic love story which purports to show the reason (erroneous) for the tragic charge. Apart from the actual charge (which is superbly depicted) the rest is pure Hollywood bunkum.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
ok video, could do with a remaster. Good story although it isn't true ( city of Chukoti is fictional so Surat Khan couldn't massacre the Brits and Indians at Chukoti hence the reason for attacking the Russians is fictional, as far as known the reason for the charge is a mystery).
The runtime is 1 hour 50 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2013
I saw this film years ago as a youngster and loved it.I sat and watched the DVD (to my wifes disgust) and enjoyed every
minute of it. It is totally historically inaccurate and gung-ho but I loved it. It is a typical Errol Flynn film with plenty of action
and very little story. Great support from the likes of David Niven , Donald Crisp,Olivia De Havilland and Nigel Bruce and
lots more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2014
This is the stuff of heroes, like knight in medieval times, chivalry is not dead but lives on in the heroic figures painted on the backcloth of the Crimean Campaign of the 1865 vintage. Sound Britishness at it black and white best.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Great to watch a classic. Well liked by my wife.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2016
Historically inaccurate, but just a great action film. A who's who of old British Actors. I first saw this film over 40 years ago and still enjoy it 40 years later. As I have said before timeless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2016
Been after this film for a while, my old dad wanted to see it again, as he went to the cinema to see it as a kid. Both of us loved watching it together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2017
a wonderful ripping yarn swashbuckling at its best, Errol is fantastic. the 'charge' is as brutal as it is stunning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)