Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 22 June 2017
Great, funny almost comical film based plot that is easy to watch but easy on the eye, I enjoyed the film and hopper...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
5 stars thank you very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2017
Thank you very much - everything went beyond smooth & I'm very excited about this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2017
Film was a gift,so I can't give it 5 stars. No complaints about delivery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Another brilliant release from Arrow.

You get three discs plus a nice little booklet plus a Limited Edition Pressing Number.

The Blu-ray has some nice scenes and all round nice transfer. 4/5 from me,

The aspect Ratio is in 1:85;1 Audio 2.0 PCM, Subtitles English SDH.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
This blu ray would make the perfect gift for the horror aficionado in your life. Texas Chainsaw 2 is to Texas Chainsaw 1 what Evil Dead 2 is to Evil Dead 1: a manic, high energy follow up. Both veer off the originals straight horror template into something approaching cartoony monstrosity. As with Evil Dead 2, Texas Chainsaw 2 moves fast, barely pausing for breath and goes over the top. The boxset contains the full UNCUT movie in all its uncensored glory. Picture quality is good and sharp. The picture has a nice grainy look that never compromises the quality. There's two other discs highlighting some of Hooper's early works complete with interviews and the like. The set also contains a lavish booklet, postcard and individually numbered cert. This is a great package. For those who are put off by the negative critics reviews of this, kudos must be given to Hooper for doing something different. He could have made the same movie again but chose to go down a different bombastic and surreal path. And the actress Caroline Williams playing the screaming heroine of the movie, 'Stretch', puts in a fantastic and charismatic performance. In a nutshell, if you like Evil Dead 2 you will like this.
33 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
The Texas Chainsaw Massacre II is basically a movie about a cozy family living in Texas trying to make it in the meat business. Completely different from what people expected but oozing with personality and charm. Easily one of the most misunderstood movies if you ask me. I totally see though how and why people wanted a sequel similar to its predecessor. Especially when it comes to the style of directing. It's also quite unbelievable that The Texas Chainsaw Massacre II was directed by Tobe Hooper himself. I actually had to double-check this.

What I loved most about the movie is that it's self-aware while keeping the perfect balance between that bizarre, ridiculous atmosphere and overall creepiness. It's not exactly hilarious but definitely a lot lighter than the original. Not that that was a hard task. Thanks to the amazing set designs, which were out of this world in my opinion, it maintains a certain uneasy and unreal atmosphere. It was also nice to see that this time they focused on the entire family instead of just Leatherface. The choices made by the protagonists on the other hand made no sense whatsoever so it's safe to say that you shouldn't take this movie too serious. That doesn't take away how much I appreciate and love this masterpiece. That's right. This is for me the pure brilliance and I'm not ashamed to share my opinion. Highly recommended to people who are fond of 80's Horror and Horror with comedic elements.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 November 2012
Hate me if you want, but I never understood the high regard for the first movie. Yeah, I get the grim documentary tone, and I respect that, but there is only ONE massacre with a chainsaw, and it happens off-screen, while the rest of the film is also virtually bloodless. Nah, it's not something I rate highly.

This bizarre sequel only crossed my radar when I saw it on sale rather cheap and I was surprised by how much I liked it. Taking place 13 years after the first movie it opens with a couple of Yuppies being massacred with a chainsaw (sadly, the only chainsaw massacres in the whole movie) and the case promptly investigated by renegade Texas Ranger 'Lefty' Enright (the brilliant Dennis Hopper). The sound of the killing is caught on tape by radio DJ-type lady 'Stretch', who Lefty uses as bait to lure Leatherface out of the shadows. The trail leads to the labyrinthine catacombs beneath an abandoned amusement park for an epic showdown that doesn't really happen.

The problem begins with the second half in which Dennis Hopper seems to wander off into a different movie and nothing really becomes of his character while Stretch runs screaming from a horny Leatherface. It's a bit disappointing in this regard, but the wonderful set-design and gore effects keep it interesting. I just wish that there was more fodder for the titular chainsaw.

A lot of people consider this to be a spoof, but I don't think so myself. Horror movie-making had changed a lot by this point in the 80s. With slashers and the tools of their trade gaining popularity the genre moved away from gritty, grindhouse darkness and into something more colorful and mainstream (for better or worse). TCM2 is just a reflection of that. It's trash, but it's highly energetic and manic trash that's never boring, despite its shortcomings.

The Blu-ray is in very nice-looking 1.85:1 1080p (the back of the box incorrectly states a 1.78:1 aspect ratio) with a DTS HD-MA 2.0 soundtrack and loads of good extras. Fans of the film ought to be very pleased with MGM's effort here.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
A totally different sequel to the original. Th9is takes a more humorous turn. Its not really scary, but its a fun film, with some great scenes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Not great at all. Much preferred the first one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)