5 used & new from £83.60

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Chabrier: Espana, Suite Pastorale, Fete Polonaise / Roussel: Suite in F Hybrid SACD

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

Available from these sellers.
3 new from £83.60 2 used from £83.60

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Orchestra: Detroit Symphony Orchestra
  • Conductor: Paul Paray
  • Composer: Emmanuel Chabrier, Albert Roussel
  • Audio CD (13 Sept. 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Mercury
  • ASIN: B0002O390C
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 29,568 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. España - Rhapsody for Orchestra
  2. 1. Idylle
  3. 2. Danse villageoise
  4. 3. Sous-bois
  5. 4. Scherzo-Valse
  6. Fête polonaise
  7. Overture
  8. Danse slave
  9. Joyeuse marche
  10. Bourreé fantasque
  11. 1. Prelude
  12. 2. Sarabande
  13. 3. Gigue
  14. España - Rhapsody for Orchestra
  15. 1. Idylle
  16. 2. Danse villageoise
  17. 3. Sous-bois
  18. 4. Scherzo-Valse
  19. Fête polonaise
  20. Overture
  21. Danse slave
  22. Joyeuse marche
  23. Bourreé fantasque
  24. 1. Prelude
  25. 2. Sarabande
  26. 3. Gigue
  27. España - Rhapsody for Orchestra
  28. 1. Idylle
  29. 2. Danse villageoise
  30. 3. Sous-bois
  31. 4. Scherzo-Valse
  32. Fête polonaise
  33. Overture
  34. Danse slave
  35. Joyeuse marche
  36. Bourreé fantasque
  37. 1. Prelude
  38. 2. Sarabande
  39. 3. Gigue

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Stanley Crowe TOP 500 REVIEWER on 11 Mar. 2014
Another winner from the Mercury catalogue c. 1957-60, with Wilma Cozart at the helm (and responsible for the remastering too). The music of Chabrier here, from the 1880's, is largely dance-based, and its colorful orchestration, rhythmic flair, and thematic variety are totally engaging. The Detroit Symphony is on fine form, with brass and percussion well to the fore, and your toes will be tapping in most of the numbers. My personal favorite is the "Fete Polonaise," which comes across almost as a dance suite, with no let up of energy. It's a piece that wouldn't be out of place in a Vienna Philharmonic New Year's Eve concert, with its waltzes and mazurkas. "Espana" is an equally lively piece, with a Spanish dance flavor rather than a Slavic one. The "Suite Pastorale," based on a piano suite, has a more refined lyric touch in its first three movements, then the Scherzo-Valse last movement brings back the energy. Two pieces stand out as a bit more ambitious: the overture to the opera "Gwendoline" -- in which a marauding Dane marries a Saxon princess and bad things happen -- blends a vigorous martial theme with some lyrical passages and does so to fine effect. And the "Bouree Fantasque" (also originally for piano) is a kind of danse macabre scherzo, with eerie passages juxtaposed with sometimes threatening vigorous ones. If you think of some of Mahler's scherzos, and imagine a French Mahler, you might get something like this!

Mercury has filled up the CD with Roussel's Suite in F (from 1926). In terms of orchestral color and energy, it's a good fit, but it's a wee bit further from the dance, and in the first and third movements, we feel that we're not far from the cheeky and motoric young Prokofiev. The middle section is an eerie sarabande, which called Chabrier's "Bouree Fantasque" to mind. It's well played too. If you have to have only one Chabrier orchestral disc, you can't go wrong with this.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
These are amazingly vibrant and wonderfully vivid performances of French orchestral masterpieces. Detroit SO's playing is marvellously alive. Originally recorded in 1957-60 in stereo, but the sound quality and its presence is incredibly close to the best digital recording you can get today.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category