FREE Delivery in the UK on orders dispatched by Amazon with at least £10 of books.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Cautionary Tales has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Fun Meister
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: A book which is in good overall condition. This means that it will be largely free of page markings, the spine will still be in solid, tight condition and there will be no pages which are missing from the book. The pages may have slightly turned corners but overall the book should be clean to touch and enjoyable to read.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Cautionary Tales Paperback – 4 Oct 2007

4.4 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£8.99
£0.01 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders dispatched by Amazon with at least £10 of books. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 112 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks (4 Oct. 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0340920726
  • ISBN-13: 978-0340920725
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.1 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 660,821 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

'Extremely funny' (Stephanie Merritt, Observer)

'What could be more pleasing than to see annoying types getting their richly-deserved comeuppance? . . . Neatly and cruelly done and ingeniously rhymed' (Oliver Pritchett, Sunday Telegraph)

'His scathing wit deserves comic-laureate status.' (The Sunday Times on Chris Addison)

'The country's most erudite young stand-up.' (Guardian on Chris Addison)

'There aren't enough stars for Addison's show: he is erudite but not inaccessible or superior; confident withouth being arrogant, and the show is so well written and sharp that you will bore your friends for days afterwards quoting memorable lines from it.' (Stephanie Merritt, Observer )

'A clever sod.' (Metro)

'A load of Bellocs - and in a good way ... recommended' (Dave Crozier, Hampstead and Highgate)

'Shockingly good ... spot-on' (The Leeds Guide)

Book Description

Introducing a brilliant new talent to Christmas humour books - Chris Addison's Cautionary Tales for Grown-ups will appeal to fans of Andy Riley and Ricky Gervais.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Firstly, this is great. Poems about all those things in life you can't bear. Obnoxious wine snobs, people who have wacky weddings, management gobbledigook talkers all get gently and wittily brought down to size. In verse.

This book has a lovely feel, high quality paper and old-fashioned illustrations that make it feel like something vaguely Edwardian. But the subject of the poems is very firmly modern (a guy who only texts and loses the power of speech, a family addicted to their 4x4). The old-fashioned medium and the modern subject matter make for a great combination.

Enough intellectualising - if you are ever in need of one of these books to read for five or ten minutes perhaps while doing another job (can I be any clearer?) then this is the perfect one. The poems are just the right length.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This collection of Chris Addison's poems is a little gem. It bubbles over with black humour and witty observations about the more ridiculous elements of life in the 21st Century.
Of all the poems in the book, two stood out for me. The first is about a man called Ray who refused to vote and lost everything. In the current political climate it is an apt warning about the consequences of voter apathy.
My second favourite poem took a swipe at The Calendar Girls, and the glut of naked charity calendars they spawned. This was a highlight chiefly because Mr Addison managed to get the word `bronchopneumonia' into the poem, which makes him a hero.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A lovely little book of modern satirical poetry, in which Chris Addison takes aim at a variety of different people who annoy him- people who drive 4x4s in town, wine snobs, fly-tippers, people who smother their house in Christmas decorations, and many more- and brings about their fictional demise in poetic form.

The contrast between the child-like form of the poetry, much of which has a very genial, sing-song appeal to it, and the grown-up problems and unpleasant endings being described, is a joke that easily sustains the 100 pages without a problem. There are plenty of wry laughs.

Although it does have some untimely death in it and some adult-ish problems, a teenager or possibly even slightly younger could still enjoy this as well- it's not X-rated in any way, any more than a "Horrible Histories" is, and it could have a broad appeal.

It is quite a thin volume though. If you sat down to read it cover-to-cover, it wouldn't take long. I think it's better consumed in small doses, as a little coffee table book maybe.

I'd compare this to some of Spike Milligan's work, and personally I'd say that was very high praise.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Very witty book - especially if you are familiar with Hilaire Belloc. Ideal 'bedside' reading. I love Chris Addison's take on the everyday things and events of life. He has a marvellous facility for seeing and hearing the absurd in the mundane, and for holding up a mirror to us all in a way which is both hilarious and sometimes even disturbing. All in all a great read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This does exactly what it says on the tin. A slim volume of wittily told, amusing rhymes in the style of Hilaire Belloc's cautionary tales about children like Matilda who told lies and was burned to death. Here are stories about the excesses of the tanning booth, the dangers of only being able to communicate in text speak, with the lovely line 'thn thy kck pr Mtt 2 dth.' which made me howl with laughter, and the perils of extreme dieting. Very funny and very pertinent to today's society.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback