Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £5.99

Save £3.00 (33%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Cautionary Tales by [Addison, Chris]
Kindle App Ad

Cautionary Tales Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£5.99

Length: 116 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Books from 99p
Load up your Kindle library before your next holiday -- browse over 500 Kindle Books on sale from 99p until 31 August, 2016. Shop now

Product Description

Review

'Extremely funny' (Stephanie Merritt, Observer)

'What could be more pleasing than to see annoying types getting their richly-deserved comeuppance? . . . Neatly and cruelly done and ingeniously rhymed' (Oliver Pritchett, Sunday Telegraph)

'His scathing wit deserves comic-laureate status.' (The Sunday Times on Chris Addison)

'The country's most erudite young stand-up.' (Guardian on Chris Addison)

'There aren't enough stars for Addison's show: he is erudite but not inaccessible or superior; confident withouth being arrogant, and the show is so well written and sharp that you will bore your friends for days afterwards quoting memorable lines from it.' (Stephanie Merritt, Observer )

'A clever sod.' (Metro)

'A load of Bellocs - and in a good way ... recommended' (Dave Crozier, Hampstead and Highgate)

'Shockingly good ... spot-on' (The Leeds Guide)

Book Description

Introducing a brilliant new talent to Christmas humour books - Chris Addison's Cautionary Tales for Grown-ups will appeal to fans of Andy Riley and Ricky Gervais.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1038 KB
  • Print Length: 116 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (5 Oct. 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0043VD5ZY
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #444,981 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Firstly, this is great. Poems about all those things in life you can't bear. Obnoxious wine snobs, people who have wacky weddings, management gobbledigook talkers all get gently and wittily brought down to size. In verse.

This book has a lovely feel, high quality paper and old-fashioned illustrations that make it feel like something vaguely Edwardian. But the subject of the poems is very firmly modern (a guy who only texts and loses the power of speech, a family addicted to their 4x4). The old-fashioned medium and the modern subject matter make for a great combination.

Enough intellectualising - if you are ever in need of one of these books to read for five or ten minutes perhaps while doing another job (can I be any clearer?) then this is the perfect one. The poems are just the right length.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This collection of Chris Addison's poems is a little gem. It bubbles over with black humour and witty observations about the more ridiculous elements of life in the 21st Century.
Of all the poems in the book, two stood out for me. The first is about a man called Ray who refused to vote and lost everything. In the current political climate it is an apt warning about the consequences of voter apathy.
My second favourite poem took a swipe at The Calendar Girls, and the glut of naked charity calendars they spawned. This was a highlight chiefly because Mr Addison managed to get the word `bronchopneumonia' into the poem, which makes him a hero.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A lovely little book of modern satirical poetry, in which Chris Addison takes aim at a variety of different people who annoy him- people who drive 4x4s in town, wine snobs, fly-tippers, people who smother their house in Christmas decorations, and many more- and brings about their fictional demise in poetic form.

The contrast between the child-like form of the poetry, much of which has a very genial, sing-song appeal to it, and the grown-up problems and unpleasant endings being described, is a joke that easily sustains the 100 pages without a problem. There are plenty of wry laughs.

Although it does have some untimely death in it and some adult-ish problems, a teenager or possibly even slightly younger could still enjoy this as well- it's not X-rated in any way, any more than a "Horrible Histories" is, and it could have a broad appeal.

It is quite a thin volume though. If you sat down to read it cover-to-cover, it wouldn't take long. I think it's better consumed in small doses, as a little coffee table book maybe.

I'd compare this to some of Spike Milligan's work, and personally I'd say that was very high praise.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Very witty book - especially if you are familiar with Hilaire Belloc. Ideal 'bedside' reading. I love Chris Addison's take on the everyday things and events of life. He has a marvellous facility for seeing and hearing the absurd in the mundane, and for holding up a mirror to us all in a way which is both hilarious and sometimes even disturbing. All in all a great read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover