Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Size: Uni|Colour Name: no color/pattern|Change
Price:£21.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2012
This watch is one of a series with different cases and dials. I purchased a gold coloured version back in 1996 which finally started to give trouble a few days ago. This appeared to be caused by the sealing ring which had not been changed since new and had allowed dirt to accumulate inside. Despite this the movement was still working perfectly and I later cleaned out the case especially the buttons which were stiff and it now works again.
However due to the age and the fact that the case is not metal, it has lost its good looks and at the very reasonable price it is available for on Amazon I decided to get a new one. This time I chose the chrome coloured version with a white dial and black digits which provides a very easy to read face.
I very highly recommend this watch in all versions as it is very accurate (within +/-30 seconds a month) and has a separate digital display which can show the time, date and day of week, Alarm, Stopwatch and a dual time which can be set for another time zone if required. It is also very slim and elegant and looks more expensive than it is.
The method of operating the watch can be downloaded as a pdf by going to the Casio Watch site ([...]) and selecting Support/Manuals/Timepieces/Watch Manual Archives and entering Module No:1301 in the edit box.
New sealing rings are available (at just over £5 including P/P) from Casio Spares department (Tel 020 8208 9567 M-F 9-5). It uses a Silver Oxide Button Cell Type SR920 (1.55v) which is not difficult to purchase and should last about 3 years. The back is easy to remove and the battery is easy to change. The sealing ring can be changed if necessary at the same time. If the movement is accidentally disturbed check that the buttons are still operating the contacts properly.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2011
It is even prettier than in the picture. Good for both men and women, nice casual watch, not too big. It's thin and light, feels comfortable on a wrist, the bracelet is easily adjustable. I particularty like the analog-digital combination. It is convenient to have a calendar handy or be able to check the exact minutes and seconds (I work at school, I need to know time very exaclty)
I am also happy that it has hourly alarm. Prehaps the digital part is not suitable for someone with weaker eyes. However, for me it is fine. The analog face is easy to read for anyone.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
I read the reviews before purchasing this watch and was a little worried bout setting up the day / date / month. However I placed the order.
The watch arrived within the times stated by the carrier - a good start.
The digital time was set and running, the date needed adjustment - easy, no problems, the analogue time took a little sorting until realising a small pointer was needed to activate the adjuster button.
The watch itself is good, light and unobtrusive, not a heavy "dinner plate" on your wrist. The analogue numerals are clear and easily read, even at night and without glasses. The digital display is clear. The strap was easily adjusted to suit my wrist.
The watch is worn all the time and in all conditions - except when bathing. It appears to be shock proof and rain proof.
So far it is keeping good time, and the day / date changes "Instantly" at midnight. Not like my old watch which took a good two hours to grind through the process.
All in all a good item which is very reasonably priced for day to day wear.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
I AM REALLY IMPRESSED WITH THE WATCH. IT IS LIGHT AND A NICE SIZE AND THE STRAP IS EASY TO ADJUST.IT DOES NOT HAVE A BACKLIGHT LIKE MOST CASIO WATCHES.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
I really like this watch. It's actually the second one I've bought ( the first was bought from a high street shop in the USA and caused me no problems until it was mislaid in a hotel somewhere ).

I work in theatre backstage and it is useful to have a digital stopwatch on my person as part of the job as well as knowing the time at any moment. This does the job rather elegantly - it doesn't look out of place at a soiree, and is robust enough to fit with workwear. I went out of my way to find this model when I needed to replace the lost one. I had that about 6 years, and replaced the battery once, about 4 years in. The dial is very clear, and the glass seems scratch resistant. The bracelet is easily adjustable.

It fits my requirements perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
I agree with other reviewers. It's attractive and convenient. It's a nice compact size when most modern wrist watches seem to be the size of my Grandpa's pocket watch. (why?)

Some gripes to balance things out...

After owning one for over two years I STILL can't get used to the date display. WHY ONLY MD FORMAT? Most watches allow you to configure how the date displays - but not this one - it's month-day only - so "3 2 SA" is March second, (Saturday) - not the third of February. OK for Yanks but what about the rest of the world? It's a big minus for me.

The analogue time display is completely independent of the digital. You effectively have two watches.

When adjusting the analogue, you can only wind forwards. So if you're five minutes fast, just hold that button down while the hands creep round for 11 hours and 55 minutes. Be careful, if you overshoot you'll have to do it again.

Replaced battery twice in two years.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Good unisex watch. I needed a spare watch for the many days when I can't locate my regular one. It fits the bill nicely.
My wrists are on the large side for woman, and it looks just the right size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
For someone trying to get to grips with digital time, having the back up of conventional time display on this watch is great. The wearer can then use it as a learning tool whenever they wish and as a reassuring double check on actual time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
Let me start by saying that this is a nice timepiece. As others have said, it's light, comfy and looks smart.

However, not all the information in the description is accurate and, in fact, it is quite misleading. It states in the 'Description' that it is water resistant to 3 atm (30m). Contrary to that, the 'Features and details' state a ridiculous 'water pressure resistance' of 50 bar (500m)!

According to Casio the watch conforms to ISO 22810 (http://www.casio-europe.com/euro/watch/collection/aq-230a-7bmqyes/), which in turn defers to the manufacturer's description of what activities are permitted within the warranty. Casio state that the watch is only "resistant to minor splashing. Any greater water contact should be avoided."

As such, the other claim in the 'Features and details' section that it is water resistant to 30m (massively different to 50 bar!) is misleading because it suggests bathing and swimming with the watch on is OK when according to the manufacturer, Casio, it is not. Bathing and swimming with the watch on will void the warranty.

So, if you're after something that you can keep on your wrist all day every day for pretty much any daily activity including washing, then this watch is not for you.

However, if, like me, your regular practice is to remove your watch for showers or baths or swimming, etc, then this is a great little watch.

All in all, be well informed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Have just bought this model to replace a similar one that had a black face, and whose buttons had become worn. It's so much nicer to look at, and has been admired by people who have seen it. Well satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here