Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Casio FX-CG20 Advanced Graphic Calculator
Package Quantity: 1|Change
Price:£130.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 29 January 2017
Excellent. We bought this to use in the current specification AQA maths and further maths 'A' level exams, for which it is definitely approved.

The calculator is sturdy and uses cAsio's familiar logic to enter (same as their popular GCSE range).

Graphing is great, and the inbuilt periodic table is cute.

Best of all, it does everything you need for all modules of these exams, and there are no doubts about acceptance (the similar Texas Instruments model - perhaps a bit more powerful - is ok in some versions, but not in others, so some examiners look worriedly at it, and I just didn't need that hassle).
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2015
Having used this calculator for nearly a year I cannot emphasise enough what an amazing investment it is. This calculator is admittedly too advanced for what most people need it for and hence it takes a long time to master the basics. That being said once you are utilising this calculator to its full potential it can guarantee between 60 and 80 percent in any single maths module due to its ability to quickly check the answer to many questions. Particularly useful for students taking statistics due to its dedicated statistics section. There are also a range of unofficial programs available for this device from classic games like Snake to the very advanced Eigenmaths calculating script. To summarise, as with many other things, you get out from this calculator what you put in, learn to use it efficiently and you'll soon realise maths exams are simply testing you're typing accuracy.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2016
I purchased this calculator for my A-Level maths studies having seen my peers purchase the Texas Instruments TI nspire CS calculator, this calculator's closest rival. Following a significant amount of debating, I would say that both of these calculators offer all of the features necessary for A-Level (or equivalent). However, the Texas is by far the smoother operator, and has considerably more computing power. Therefore, for the person looking for the best, I would (reluctantly) concede that the Texas is the better purchase. Although, as a beginner with no prior experience with graphical calculators, I would add that the Casio is simpler to operate and get your head around (especially if you are familiar with the other Casio calculators) - partly because on the Texas, everything is organised in files (like a computer). Therefore, the Casio is still a pleasant machine to use.

However, it might be noteworthy to interested customers that this calculators doesn't have secant, cosecant or cotangent functions built-in (admittedly though it is not that difficult to type 1/cos or whatever instead, especially as you need to memorise such identities anyway). Another annoying problem is that the calculator doesn't tell you the syntax for its various functions, unlike the Texas, and so expect to have to consult the enormous user manual regularly while you are getting used to it. What's more, in person, it turned out to be far bigger and bulkier than expected, again, unlike the Texas.

In all though, despite its flaws, this is a very capable calculator that does offer useful benefits over its competitors (ease of use, recursion menu, etc.). Hence, it is definitely one to consider. Though, if I were to purchase again, I would probably sway towards the Texas.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2017
It was ok but overpriced for the things it does, returned it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2016
This will be a familiar device to young students of maths. I gained maths and physics A - level in 1961 when I used slide rule and four - figure tables. I implore all older students who have an interest in maths to explore this wonderful device - it brings maths to life again in Menu 1 and Menu 5. Differentiation and integration are easy, and can handle matrices and imaginary numbers. It deduces Euler's identity and can be programmed. Also graphs and tables can be stored.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2015
It does everything an A level mathematics and further mathematics students needs it to. And it is allowed in all exams.
It was a hard choice picking between the CG20 and the Nspire.
I picked casio because I've used their calculators all my life, and so, as I predicted the layout was similar to previous models.
The CG20 also boasts significantly greater programmability.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2015
Having used this calculator for only one week, I truly struggle to go back to a traditional graphical or for that matter scientific calculator. Thanks to its unique digital colour display and powerful processor it can calculate even the most hardest of graphs. For example, calculate long mathematical graph equations forming dynamic graphs: ranging from Sin x graphs to 'Xt1 = 11Sin 4TCos T Yt1 = 11Sin 4TSin T'. I would highly reccomend it to those learning or proficient in using TI Basic for programming on the calculator, or for that matter using programs such as GeoCalc (which can be found universally on sites such as GitHub) which can easily be installed using an included USB Cable. Equally, if like me you have a program which you wanted to share with a friend, there is a cable included which can be used to link two calculators - not necessarily a FX-CG20 but any Casio Graphical Calculator. Currently, I use the calculator for an Edexcel A-Level Maths and Further Maths, for which it is an indispensable tool. It is a perfect companion to an Casio FX-991ES Plus, of course, given the powerful nature of the calculator it is convenient to have a secondary scientific calculator for the more basic of calculations. With full support of polynomials, matrices, conic graphs, recursion and even a built in Periodic Table it has got you covered.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2016
Bought as a present for my son for A level maths; he is delighted. One minor issue in the product description which says it is powered by '2 lithium batteries'- so I bought spares at the time of ordering; it isn't , it uses x4 AAA batteries!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2017
Great A level calculator. Also useable in exams but check first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
I've given this 4 stars as it is certainly a very good calculator, but there is now a later model: CASIO FX-CG50 Graphic Calculator.

However, as I point out in that review, the TI-Nspire CX is definitely a better calculator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 24 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)