<Embed>
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £1.78 (18%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
A Case of Exploding Mango... has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by eStockBay uk
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: We are committed to providing each customer with the highest standard of customer service. All books are picked, packed and dispatched from the United Kingdom.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Case of Exploding Mangoes Paperback – 4 Jun 2009

3.9 out of 5 stars 47 customer reviews

See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£8.21
£5.11 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Great Discounts
Shop the Books Outlet. Discover some great deals on top titles. Shop now
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this product and stream 90 days of Amazon Music Unlimited for free. E-mail after purchase. Conditions apply. Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • A Case of Exploding Mangoes
  • +
  • In Other Rooms, Other Wonders
  • +
  • Moth Smoke
Total price: £24.41
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Vintage (4 Jun. 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780099516743
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099516743
  • ASIN: 0099516748
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 1.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 47 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 151,173 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Zesty, highly inventive...Hanif is a gifted writer...His explosive finale is brilliantly constructed" (Daily Mail)

"Exuberant and satirical: this is an angry comedy about Zia's brutal legacy to Pakistan" (Observer)

"Witty, elegaic and deliciously anarchic" (John Le Carré)

"A Pakistan not reducible to generals, jets and jihadisa...a debut novel shaped as much by the subcontinents fascination with history and historical figures as by political thrillers in the tradition of Forsyth and Le Carre.... Along the way there is plenty of humour and slapstick... Cadet life is entertainingly evoked, overflowing with japes, jerkoffs, hashish highs and liquored lows... The most unexpected aspect of Mangoes is also its most compelling - the wryly told story of a love affair between two cadets" (Guardian)

"Entertaining.... darkly comic.... There are sharply observed sketches of toadying ministers, mindlessly efficient security chiefs, filthy prison cells, sex-mad Arab sheikhs and erudite communist prisoners...as a piece of political satire, A Case of Exploding Mangoes deserves a high mark" (Independent)

Synopsis

There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: mechanical failure, human error, the CIA's impatience, a blind woman's curse, generals not happy with their pension plans, the mango season or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri? Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif's debut novel takes one of the subcontinent's enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar's dream.

See all Product description

47 customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

28 November 2015
Verified Purchase
31 March 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
22 February 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
28 July 2018
Verified Purchase
13 October 2018
Verified Purchase
2 February 2018
Verified Purchase
24 July 2014
Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?