£18.70
  • RRP: £26.00
  • You Save: £7.30 (28%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Care and Feeding of R... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls Hardcover – 19 Feb 2019

4.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£18.70
£12.02 £14.22
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy this product and stream 90 days of Amazon Music Unlimited for free. E-mail after purchase. Conditions apply. Learn more

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley Books (19 Feb. 2019)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1984802437
  • ISBN-13: 978-1984802439
  • Product Dimensions: 15.7 x 2.7 x 23.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 42,047 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

An Indie Next, Library Reads, and Barnes & Noble Discover Pick!

"The inequities of the justice system, the fortitude of women of color, and the bittersweet struggle to connect are rendered ravishly in this bighearted novel."--Oprah Magazine

"[An] intimate family saga sure to appeal to fans of Tayari Jones and Celeste Ng."--Entertainment Weekly

"A poetically written story that guides us through a deep darkness toward a faint whisper of light seeping from beneath a closet door. A light that shows how love and forgiveness can come from unexpected places and triumph over more than we ever imagine."--Delia Owens, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Where the Crawdads Sing

"I was immediately taken by the power and honesty of Anissa Gray's voice. She is a writer to watch, and this debut is not to be missed!"--Terry McMillan, New York Times bestselling author of I Almost Forgot About You and Waiting to Exhale

"If you enjoyed An American Marriage, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness."--The Washington Post

"As in Tayari Jones's best-selling An American Marriage, Gray uses imprisonment as the backdrop for a disarmingly compelling story that skirts easy answers and sentimentality. Conversational in tone and difficult in subject, Care and Feeding tells not just an American story but several important ones." --Vogue

"Gray's absorbing novel is about family and the things we hunger for."--Real Simple

"Anissa Gray's debut is heralded as "The Mothers meets An American Marriage." If that's not enough to sell you on this stunning novel about family and relationships, we don't know what will." -HelloGiggles

"[A] stark, emotional story you don't want to miss."--Bustle

"A trio of sisters navigate the tricky waters of forgiveness in Gray's heartfelt, beautifully written debut...Get an extra copy for your best friend or your own sister; this is one you're going to want to talk about."--Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

"Gray beautifully captures the way strong women can piece a community back together, taking care of their loved ones while still figuring out how to care for themselves. A graceful debut that feels timely and important."--Karin Tanabe, author of The Gilded Years

"This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett's The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself."--Publisher's Weekly

"Gray's engrossing and moving debut novel considers secrets and lies and their effect on the families of three sisters."--Booklist

"Gray manages a large cast of characters with ease, sharply differentiating between the voices of hardheaded Althea, shrewd Viola, and hesitating Lillian, who narrate the novel in alternating chapters."--Kirkus

"[A] moving portrait of a troubled family that would be an excellent book club pick."--PureWow

"Deftly exploring black identity, sibling roles, and emotional trauma, Gray paints a nuanced family portrait you can't turn away from."--Entertainment Weekly

About the Author

Anissa Gray is a Senior Editor at CNN Worldwide and a contributor to Emmy and DuPont-Columbia award-winning coverage of some of the most consequential stories of our time. She began her career at Reuters as a reporter, based in New York, covering business news and international finance. Born in St. Joseph, Michigan, Gray studied English and American literature at New York University. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her wife.



2 customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

19 February 2019
23 February 2019

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.1 out of 5 stars 45 reviews
Angelia Vernon Menchan
5.0 out of 5 starsGenerational Curses
20 February 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful.
Tara at Running 'n' Reading
5.0 out of 5 starsA powerful debut; highly recommend!
26 February 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful.
carilynp
5.0 out of 5 starsA most exquisite novel
26 February 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.
Barbara Wolfe
5.0 out of 5 starsNot what I expected
3 March 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful.
Kotty
3.0 out of 5 starsGood
25 February 2019 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.