Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2013
This is a brilliant book,whether you are a diabetic,or just wanting to eat healthily.If you are counting the calories,then this is the book for you,as it does all the hard work for you.You can even get a pocket size version,which is useful, for eating out.If I'm planning what to eat,for example,an evening meal,I just get my book out,and check how much carbs,and fat ect,may be in that meal,and if it is telling me,that the meal,has lots of carbs,and fat,I just look through,and choose something else,that is low in the carbs and fat.I have just lost 21lbs with this book,and because it shows you how much carbs,fat,and sat fat is in a portion,I have thought,gosh,I am going to eat that amount,i'l e the smaller portion now.I have always had a big appetite!!,but his book has changed my eating habits,for the better,I now eat like a normal person,and I'm not always hungry now,as my stomach has shrunk so much.I can't praise this book,high enough!!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
Being new to this Diabetic confusion, this book is such a help and its pictures are clear, Plate/dish sizes are given for you to compare with your own crockery and portion sizes you serve. there are different coloured 'boxes' around the main food plate stating the Carbo'e, protein, fat, sugar etc. content of the food you're looking at. I'm amazed at the number of foods shown, and although the book can't possibly show every available food, you will find a 'near' equivalent to complete your search. I wouldn't want to be without it now and would readily recommend it not only to people suffering from Diabetes, but to friends and family of Diabetics who have to do the meal planning, shopping, cooking and serving of the finished meal, as this must be so difficult to understand what their Diabetic sufferer can eat and without gaining weight, as calorie counting eventually has to come into it. Having recently been diagnosed myself, a gentleman diabetic of 15 years said he still didn't know what he was doing!! So be patient, it's not some thing we can rush, but already this book has made life a lot easier. Go get it! [Just one point - being an American publication there are a lot of foreign meals included, but we really do need more popular English meals]Now,whatever type of food I buy, [whether packets of biscuits, ready
meals etc]I look for the nutritional table on the back of the packet, etc., so that mainly takes care of the 'American' problem.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I do not know why no one has produced anything like this before. YOu appreciate better the portion size you are allowed and it is quite comprehensive in all the various foods that it covers.

A must for any diabetic and/or slimmer.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
I was diagnosed type II diabetic in December 2014 and was told about the book at a Living with Diabetes course I went on arranged by my GP practice, so purchased one. While it has some text the most useful way the photographs are displayed show you what a balanced plate should look like and how easy it is to overindulge. It can't make you control portions but it is a good traffic light to what is a healthy balanced diet and what is overstepping the mark. I have used the book to radically alter my intake of certain foods. My cholesterol level dropped from 4.2 to 1.8, blood pressure has gone from 135/86 to 109/74 and I have taken nearly 6 inches off my waist size which equates to 49lbs weight loss between January and the end of June 2015 and my Hb1Ac in January was 118 in April had dropped to 71 so it still needs work. The book can't make you eat "differently" I was going to say LESS but I don't eat less in terms of bulk but as I said earlier I have made a radical change to my food intake. I still enjoy lots of my favourites and have made sacrifices by cutting out things that I know I would binge on if I got a sniff of them and that is difficult. For what it costs and what you could gain from it as a diabetic or someone with a weight problem that is not diabetic I feel it is good value for money. One word of caution though don't make it your food bible as you may be in danger of becoming a food NERD or even worse a food BORE
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book was recommended to me by the dietician at the diabetes clinic that I attend. When she first showed me the copy that she had I was quite prepared to be shocked by the price as most informative publications seem to command high price tags, this was not the case with this book though and I was very happy to only have to pay £10 for it.

This is a high quality publication with full colour photo's showing a huge variety of foods in various portion sizes and concise, well written text. From the photo's you can make judgements on how many carbs, calories or how much protein or fat you are consuming every time you eat. As well as the photographic aids this book contains a wealth of information about healthy eating, nutrition, weight loss/gain, types of foods and diabetes. It does not delve too deeply into any of these subjects but provides enough information for you to be able to make informed decisions.

Physically, this book is not too big to carry with you if you intend eating out although there is a smaller 'pocket' edition available or you can even purchase the app. from the app. store. I have only just started using the book (and the app.) but I can see that it will be getting plenty of use in the future as I doubt that I could ever memorise enough of the information to merit going without it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This is a superb book for diabetics counting carbs. Would recommend to anyone who wants to count carbs etc. or even if they don't
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Probably the easiest way of judging, and therefore controlling, portion size.

Everyday meals such as spaghetti bolognese, curry shown in different portion sizes with fat and calorie content.

One example is that a sausage contains a similar amount of fat to a chicken breast, but how many people eat only one sausage versus those eating two chicken breasts in one portion?

As one that was always taught to clear my plate as a child I would strongly recommend this book to anyone looking for an easy way to reduce their calorie / fat intake to healthy levels.
<a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1908261064/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=19450&creativeASIN=1908261064&linkCode=as2&tag=ventutrain-21">Carbs & Cals: Count your Carbs & Calories with over 1,700 Food & Drink Photos!</a><img src="http://ir-uk.amazon-adsystem.com/e/ir?t=ventutrain-21&l=as2&o=2&a=1908261064" width="1" height="1" border="0" alt="" style="border:none !important; margin:0px !important;" >
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Arrived well within the prescribed delivery period. I am Type 2 Diabetic on Insulin. One side effect of taking insulin is that even on a reasonably strict diet based on calorie values alone you put on weight. With the increase in weight you have to up the dosage of Insulin..........and so on. Prior to getting this book I had never realised the Carbohydrate factor was as serious as it is. I am now aware of the carb content of my usual foods and have modified volumes to match recommended levels. I have lost weight, not as much as I need to, but it is a slow and progressive loss. Check with your doctor before deciding on maximum daily intake - my doctors recommendation was appreciably lower than that in the book. I would recommend this book, it is nicely thought out and clearly presented.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Super book, good quality paper (slightly glossy so easy to wipe clean) A5 handy size. Every page has at least 6 clear photographs of food and in different portion sizes to help compare and all relevant nutritional details clearly listed with each photo. Very simple to use and frightenly clear how portion size can so easily increase calorie intake. I have recommended this book to a number of people who like me are starting to get their meal size/ eating plan in order. As a novice at portion control I have found it very helpful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This book is wonderful! I use it to gain a bit of weight and it was so fun to look at all the pictures and discover how many calories each item has. Also it stated a lot more info than that and it is overall a great help! I like the colour, the text is written in an informative and clear way and overall the design is really nice. I recommend buying this book if you want to lose weight, or to keep healthy or if you want to gain weight, like me. It was quite a revelation to see how many calories an egg has and how few a tomato has, for example, all this made me realise how to eat foods that I enjoy but also that can help me gain weight easier.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse