Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2013
Like having a chat over the garden fence with a neighbour who has lots of colourful anecdotes to share, a neighbour who isn't beyond name dropping, a neighbour who doesn't always get her story straight in the re-telling, whilst Caravans And Wedding Bands held a certain appeal I wasn't always comfortable reading it.

Not nearly as good a read as The Girl In The Painted Caravan, apart from all the contradictions in the story (many of them revolving around the traditional Romany wedding) I found this book to be largely lacking the appeal of the first, the insight into the authors Romany heritage sadly sparse.

Copyright: Petty Witter @ Pen and Paper.

Caravans and Wedding Bands: A Romany Life in the 1960s
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
This is a book that lulls you into a forgotten life of Romanies and clairvoyants. It follows the adult life of one of the most famous names and as she mentions other famous names who approached her for readings. A very comfortable read,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Have read all these true stories now and spent a few months reading all about the lifestyle . Engrossing this and some of the other's too . Lots of these stories out there and none of them are dull all full of life very colorful and a very different childhood ?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Loved the first book so bought this but didnt enjoy as much, its worth reading if you've read the first as you get to see what happens in Eva's life, not much of the magic of old traditional Romany times that I so enjoyed reading about in the first book though!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
After reading the first book I was intrigued about the second. A fascinating account. In some places I felt that the detail was as little boring hence 4 stars but I would read another book by this author'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Really enjoyed this book a lovely insight into Eva's life.Very uplifting and positive I bought this together with the girl in the painted caravan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
pleasent read a little bit cotradictory in rememberances you will have to read to see what I mean? but saying that it was an easy read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Very good read could not put the book down cannot wait to read next book very interesting would be buying now
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
This book was a good read and I really enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Gave a real insight into how these people lived and show how they were treated at that time. Absolutely brilliant and keeps you wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)