Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
157
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 24 July 2015
I have happy memories of sitting watching this on late TV one night with my father. It may be a bit dated now, but the story is a clever if slightly far fetched idea, and there is some phenomenal stunt flying. In an era where most people had still only ever seen a computer in a film, never mind used one, there's no dodgy CGI here! I am not going to talk about the plot in case there is anyone left on the planet who doesn't know it, because watching it knowing nothing about the story really will enhance it a lot. All I will say is, it is definitely worth a watch. I still love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Exposing Nasa as the liar's they are.. there is no space to go too... the earth is flat and motionless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Great thought provoking film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
Classic SF.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
This Lew Grade film is one of the greatest conspiracy films ever made,one definite flaw is the extremely unlikely possibility of the first 2 crewmen to be located by the hunter-killer helicopters being given the time or chance to fire off a flare,they would have been shot instantly.Any government agency,known or unknown,put in such a drastic and impossible situation would go to extreme lengths to keep its money flowing and i have no doubt that such things have happened before and will happen again.I expect many of us have our views on the so called Roswell incident of which the facts are indisputable,there is no doubt that a newspaper reported the "capture" of a crashed flying saucer,there was most certainly a cover up after that which discredited Major Marcel in a particularly vicious and nasty way making it appear that he was an imbecile almost,he was most certainly not that,his version of the events is far more credible than the official denials.It a good story but im quite sure it wasn't an alien craft,it was far more likely to have been an experimental missile with some small primates inside that went off trajectory and crashed.It sure wasn't a weather ballon as the official version tells it!.Capricorn 1 is a warning of the power a ruthless government can and will wield if necessary.
33 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
this may have been a widecreen motion picture but the funding and production was TV-based, hence limitation in quality are obvious at time and a feature of the way it was made. The film was always a curious one. Fantastic acting, curious casting and most oddly expensive filming in one scene followed by ultra low budget scenes in the next. The digital restoration is almost none existent. They have simply used the best master reels available and the result is incredible. HD capture of the original photography is superb in most scenes. The desert scenes are glorious. The studio scence less so but still good. The only real let downs visually are the panned-away studio scences without focus like the locked meeting room at the air-base. Sound is good for this film, not remixed but why would you. This is a classic film and this is giant leap from DVD but do not expect a digitally clean movie, there are original camera artifacts galore but I LOVE the end product.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
-> BLU RAY

Back in the seventies 'conspiracy' was all the rage: 3 Days of the Condor; All the President's Men;
The Parallax View; Night Moves; The Domino Principle; The Conversation... to name a few.
(today, of course, you'd do it in broad daylight, assuming you're 'too big to fail'...)
This is a fine (and entertaining!) example of how 70s film dramatized the self-doubt
of a nation and its people's growing mistrust towards their authorities.

Very solid picture. Original aspect ratio.
Recommended! (BD cover data "4:3" = incorrect)

Film: 7,5/10
Picture quality 8/10
Aspect ratio: 2,35:1 orig. (= 16x9 letterbox)
Run time (24 fps): 2:03'09''
Chpt.: 12
Audio: Engl.
ST: Engl. o/-
Region free
Bonus: -
Studio: itv
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 October 2016
I always thought Capricorn One was about a fake moon landing, in fact it is about a fake mission to Mars. With all the Mars activity that has happened in the last ten years or so it makes viewing Peter Hyams big reveal movie that more captivating.

I was also surprised by how much of a thriller it is. Chase scenes have some real originality. But the real meat in this dish is the idea of a Government agency acting on its own instincts without the knowledge of the President. And the apathy of the people unless someone gets killed, preferably on camera. I remember those later Apollo missions playing golf and driving a car on the moon just to entertain the masses.

Capricorn One is still relevant. I would prefer all human activity that is currently aimed at killing each other (all Armed Forces) to morph into a program for space exploration. I know that Earth is the only planet with life. I know that Earth is the only planet with life. It bares repeating. The only unseen forces are the State agencies. As the mother-lode for life, humans are made for exploring. And it serves to unite us.

I have a very old copy of the brownish cover dvd, which on 10ft projection screen suffers greatly. It also has 4:3 aspect ratio, the old square TV screen; I thought this was how the film was made. Upon looking at the latest blu ray for picture upgrade I notice letterbox widescreen is the norm, an extra five minutes is probably film running time thing rather than extra scenes. Wish it was in two-for-ten offer. BTW one of the astronauts is now a convicted murderer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Classic 1970s movie but poor Bluray. The picture quality is barely above DVD most of the time. Focus is lost in several key scenes and the picture is very weak with lots of blue grainy video noise & compression artifacts present. I know some of these issues are not fixable as the original production was low budget and some of it made for TV not cinema but they still should have done a better job on the Bluray its well below average PQ wise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)