Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 April 2017
Loved the story. Wanted Juliet to stray and find romance but then equally wanted it all to work out with Will
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2017
Good quality happy with the purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
Easy to read page turner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 October 2017
Very easy read and relatable book. Thoroughly enjoyed the storyline and made food for thought about personal experiences!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2009
Being the fact that I'm a 22yr old straight male, I didn't at first thought, imagine I'd be as interested in this sort of book when I first came across it in a villa in Majorca this summer. I gave it a shot however, and after barely having put it down for more than an hour in 2 days, I was finished.

This is a fun, interesting, compelling book that will always provide the reader with some aspect to which they can empathize. The two characters, Will and Juliette, really draw you in and make you desperate to continue reading to find out how their situation changes throughout the book.

Another great bit of writing by Alexandra Potter, definitely worth reading.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2017
Alexandra potter never fails to write a good book!
This is a really good story, easy read and hard to put down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2003
'Calling Romeo' is a compelling, feel good romance. I bought it on a whim, not expecting a lot, read it in Greece and have been recommending it continuously since.
The lovable characters and realistic scenario mixed with a touch of fairy tale, result in a novel full of emotion and laughs. Alexandra Potter is a wonderful writer with the ability to capture her reader into the whirl-wind of Will and Jules.
I loved this book, and was disappointed to reach the end, although the story does conclude how it should and as a reader you are left feeling content. A must read for all romantics.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2014
What a s**t book to tell you the truth. Absolutely, utter drivel is what this book is.

Firstly, I've said this time and time again, I despise infidelity! And I despise characters who cheat on their partners. They redeem themselves a little bit when their partner is a complete jerk, and they end up leaving him/her to be with the person they cheated on them with. However, when it's simply cheating for the sake of cheating, then there is no redemption as far as I'm concerned.

Juliet, oh Juliet, what a complete self-absorbed, arrogant idiot you turned out to be. When this book first started, with Will, her long-term boyfriend stands her up on Valentine's and then continues to neglect her etc. I think OK, this guy needs a good slap in the face. When Juliet finds herself soaking wet due to an insensitive man in a flashy car driving straight into a puddle, I think oh this poor thing, like she needed this to top off her night!! When the driver pauses, and tries to reverse and find the girl, I think oh how sweet. This is going to be good!!

Fast forward to several chapters in, when Will once again ditches her for a work emergency on one of her biggest nights at work. She ends up going to a masquerade work party alone, and you won't believe it!!! YES, she meets the handsome jerk who ruined her furry coat. He begins to pursue her in the sweetest ways that you think this must be meant to be!

Only he suddenly turns creepy for some reason. They travel to Verona together (yes, I know, Verona, Juliet, Calling Romeo, get it? How lame can it get.) and he seems distant, and weird, and not as sweet as she remembers or as I even remember. Obviously at that point, we as readers, can all figure out where this is headed, him being her rival competitor agent for a big project she's working on. She comes back home, decides to break it off because she's weirded out, goes back to her man, Will, and he seems to have gotten a wake up call when he goes on a trip to his family's and just like that, everything is great between them once again.

Well, of course, until he finds out about her infidelity. Then s**t hits the fan and he leaves her and she's heartbroken. Even though she deserves it, and does not deserve a shred of sympathy. Now the ending, they meet at a wedding, and they somehow reconcile, although it's left open ended as they drive off Grease style into the sunset.

What a horrible piece of crap this book turned out to be. I mean, if you're going to write a book about infidelity, make it a little more convincing, a little more realistic. And please, explain to me WHY, why would you add that part at the beginning where the Skylar (the jerk) stops and tries to look for Juliet after having drenched her? Why do you add this star-crossed, meant to be, strangers meet, storyline if you're just going to completely disregard it later on? It's not like he came after her after she left him, he seemed completely OK with her putting a stop to the affair like it meant absolutely nothing to him.

Hated every aspect of this book, it was so boring, the dialogue so empty, the narrative so redundant, that I could barely get through it.

Do not recommend it.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2002
This book is another 'take' on Romeo and Juliet, perhaps because the main character's name is Juliet! It's a sad, ultimately feel-good book about one woman finding out whether looks are everything, and what love is really about. It's a good read, if you like the feel-good 'chick-flick' of the literary world.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2009
This was the perfect feel good, romantic book! Especially with all the twists and turns that you don't expect, and was really well written and exciting!! Loved it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Me and Mr Darcy
£1.99
Who's That Girl?
£0.99
Going La La
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here