Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
163
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Reprise/ Warner presents "CALL ME IRRESPONSIBLE" [Special Edition], featuring pop vocalist of the millennium Michael Buble, the Vancouver crooner with his latest release with new material and some vintage standards --- Canadian crooner's third studio release, is about as responsible as it gets --- featuring an unforgettable youthful style that takes you back to the '40s, '50s and '60s --- listening to every tune on this album brings back memories of Nat King Cole (one of my favorite singers of all time), Tony Bennett and Frank Sinatra as they were crooning favorite standards of the day --- Buble is a cross between James Dean and Elvis Presley in appearance, with the style and ability of Frank Sinatra and Bobby Darin --- Michael has the uncanny ability to nail each track with his signature style and making it his own.

Buble's performance is impeccable, the renditions are simply from the heart --- one can hardly pick a stand out, entire recording draws on the swinging Clayton-Hamilton Orchestra at his back, plus slow tempos with blends of original sentiment and gorgeous melodies in the order in which they appear:

1. "The Best Is Yet to Come" (3:05) - (Cy Coleman/Carolyn Leigh) - One of Tony Bennett's all time greatest hits and Michael does it proud.

2. "It Had Better Be Tonight" (Meglio Stasera) (3:06) - (Mancini/Mercer/Migliacci) - Henry Mancini's catchy tune from "The Pink Panther", with a cool David Foster arrangement.

3. "Me and Mrs. Jones (4:33) - (Huff/Gamble/Gilbert) - Buble has a good thing going with this track

4. "I'm Your Man" (4:59) - (Leonard Cohen) - The beast won't go to sleep, has Buble bringing it home

5. "Comin' Home Baby" (3:27) - (Dorough/Tucker) - Buble shares the stage with Boyz II Men, with a Mel Torme classic tune

6. "Lost" (3:40) - (Buble/Arden/Chang) - An original song with a relationship that Buble puts behind him with this heartfelt lyrical masterpiece

7. "Call Me Irresponsible" (3:16) - (Cahn/Van Heusen) - Big hit for Jack Jones but move over, Buble is taking this one on and filling those big shoes nicely

8. "Wonderful Tonight" (4:12) - (Eric Clapton) - (duet with Ivan Lins) - And then she asks Buble and Lins, Do I look alright ... they reply we feel wonderful cause we see the love light in your eyes

9. "Everything" (3:33) - (Buble/Change/Amy Foster Gilles) - a Buble original sets this album apart from the rest, youe every song, and I sing along cause you're my everything

10. "I've Got the World on a String" (2:47) - (Arlen/Koehler) - Lifes a wonderful thing as long as I hold that string

11. "Always on My Mind" (4:30) - (James/Thompson/Christopher) - Girl I'm so sorry I was blind, you were always on my mind

12. "That's Life" (4:15) - (Gordon/Thompson) - Many times I thought of cutting out, but my heart won't buy it

13. "Dream" (5:05) - (Johnny Mercer) - Doesn't get any better with one of my all time favorite songwriters and his classic 1944 tune, with the best arranger on the planet Johnny Mandel

14. "Love" (4:45) - (Bert Kaempfert/Milt Gabler) - Instrumentally Bert Kaempfert and vocally Nat "King" Cole made this an international hit back in the '60s, now Buble takes up the baton and gives this a successful run within the winners circle

Special footnote, Bublé was born in Burnaby, British Columbia --- He is of Italian descent with dual citizenship in Italy, graduated from Cariboo Hill Secondary School --- Bublé grew up listening to his grandfather's collection of jazz records --- Bublé highlights the importance of his grandfather in encouraging his musical tastes. "My grandfather was really my best friend growing up --- He was the one who opened me up to a whole world of music that seemed to have been passed over by my generation --- Although I like rock and roll and modern music, the first time my granddad played me the Mills Brothers, something magical happened --- The lyrics were so romantic, so real... the way a song should be for me --- It was like seeing my future flash before me. I wanted to be a singer and I knew that this was the music that I wanted to sing." (From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

My wife and I were fortunate enough to see Michael in a St. Louis concert, met him back stage --- might add this young man made a very positive impression on all who attended that night's show --- he's a first class guy and has everything going for him --- couldn't happen to a nicer person...it's like second nature with his natural ability to vocalize and be a crowd pleaser is pure magic --- shows why Buble has the the stuff stars are made of...he's the hottest property in the genre of "American Standards" today --- as Michael warns his band, "get ready it's about to start all over again" --- climb aboard this musical merry-go-round, you'll never regret it --- Good Luck, Michael with your sophomore studio recording --- it is definitely your biggest triumph.

Total Time: 54:00 on 14 Tracks ~ Warner Music 100324 ~ (5/09/2007)
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
received the cd in plenty of time ,condition was good,really enjoy listening to it ,my friends enjoy it as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
This is not so good as his other albums but it is ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Classic Buble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
excellent cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2007
Heard a lot of this guy on the radio but this is my first album purchase, and it's great. There are a lot of people doing the "American Songbook" style classics at the moment and it would be easy to pigeon-hole this guy as just another one, but he's not. This is a very talented young man with a great voice - soft and smooth when it needs to be and powerful when it needs to be. He says he loves singing this stuff and I think it shows in this recording. You'll know most of the songs on the album and it is just simply a delight to listen to - perfect for kicking back and chilling out after a hard day, or as a perfect backdrop to a quiet night in for two. Highly recommended
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2007
I have only more recently become taken with Michael's music. I have the first album and enjoyed that very much and loved the fresh approach to old songs. In his lastest album Call Me Irresponsible I find myself weak at the knees again; yes it is fairly similar to some of his other songs, but this style suits him well and I don't think he needs to change. My favourite song is Everthing because of the lyrics and the great syncappated accompaniment He has lovely tones in his voice with great rhythms underneath all in all a great album and a little something for everyone with big band styles and softer quiet songs for relaxing. I guess there's a song to suit all different moods.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 December 2007
This is the third main album from 4 times Grammy nominated Canadian singer Michael Steven Bublé.

It lasts 53 minutes 27 seconds, comes with a booklet of song words and contains 14 songs:

1. THE BEST IS YET TO COME ~ 3:05.
A big band number, # you think you've flown before, but you aint left the ground! # 9/10.
2. IT HAD BETTER BE TONIGHT ~ 3:06.
An up-tempo number.
I bought this album because I saw Mr Bublé perform this song on the BBC 1 show Strictly Come Dancing, and LOVED it! 10/10, one of the best songs on the album.
3. ME AND MRS JONES ~ 4:34.
A slow song - 7/10.
4. IM YOUR MAN ~ 4:59.
Slow and sexy! 10/10.
5. COMIN HOME BABY ~ 3:27.
10/10, a great driving song!
6. LOST ~ 3:41.
A slow song, Bublé's 13th single - 8/10.
7. CALL ME IRRESPONSIBLE ~ 3:17.
# I'm not too clever, I just adore you! # 9/10.
8. WONDERFUL TONIGHT ~ 4:13.
A divine slow song - 10/10.
9. EVERYTHING ~ 3:33.
A fast paced, fabulous song that was Number one in the U.S.A! # I get to kiss you baby just because I can! # {my favourite lyric!} 10/10.
10. IVE GOT THE WORLD ON A STRING ~ 2:48.
A slow song - 9/10. Great instrumental solo.
11. ALWAYS ON MY MIND ~ 4:13.
A slow song - 8/10. Marvellous vocals and marvellous music.
12. THAT'S LIFE ~ 4:16.
Slow - 9.5/10. If you love gospel, this is the Bublé song for you!
13. DREAM ~ 5:07.
The slowest song on the album - 9.5/10.
14. L.O.V.E ~ 2:51.
# L is for the way you look at me, O is for the only one I see, V is very very, extraordinary, E is even more than anyone that you adore! # 10/10, another great up-tempo song.

There is a thank you from Mr Bublé to his fans in the back of the song words booklet, which reads - "An extra special thanks to all my fans, please enjoy!"

If you or someone you know adores the big band sound, or you're just a fan of fabulous music, then this album is for you.
Bublé makes all the songs on this album his own, and even people who aren't fond of the Rat Pack sound will definitely be converted!

Any or all of his music would make perfect Valentines Day / anniversary gifts,

Utterly fabulous!
review image review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
This is a great album by Bubbles where he pushes music into new realms and concordances of plentiful bounty. Surrounded by top musos like Peter Hook (bass), Robert Rental (keyboards) and Roky Erikson (guitar) Michael makes an album that Led Zeppelin and Rammstein would dream of but could never realise. Bubbles was born in the ghetto and he has never forgotten that. He hustled in the nickle ward for a dime and chilled in the crib with his homies and ate Kentucky Fried Chicken as a pastime. He keeps it real and goes in your face and hardcore. You can hear Bubbles influences on this album...Tangerine Dream, Throbbing Gristle, Black Flag, Frank Zappa and Whigfield. Bubbles wears his heart on his cheesecloth sleeve. He takes no prisoners and no stone is unturned. It's in your face, it's raw, it's uncomfortable. As he writes in the sleeve notes, "You may like me, you may hate me but don't be indifferent to me..." Never a truer words said. This is hardcore for hardcore fans. I'm sure after the gigs all the bootlegs will be issued but buy this so that Bubbles can have money to do more gutwrenching albums like this. He is described as the "grandson of punk" I would say he is the son of GG Allin and Lydia Lunch. This is Bubbles most extreme album to date and you must buy it - I order you! Bubbles we love you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)