Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2015
I'm in two minds about this coat.

First the size. The chest size is as advertised (40-42) and fits my 42 chest well, but it is a bit tight across my shoulders. The sleeves could be a fraction (10mm) longer but the coat length is perfect for me (5' 10"). I can only wear a t-shirt and fleece under this, so it's not going to be warm enough in the winter but will be perfect for autumn/spring rainy days.

The hood. This is a useless thing. It's too small, both from the neck to the top of the head, and from front to back - it does not cover my head leaving an uncovered portion at the front. Perhaps the next size up has a hood that would fit?

The overall look is very good, even smart and is well thought out. However you can see where the money has been saved: The lining is not padded/quilted and really is just a protective inner to stop the coat (possibly) dirtying clothing; the poppers are flimsy and in some cases sewn right on the edge of the material. The zip however appears to be more robust, though it can be a bit fiddly to start off. However, the stitching appears to be good as are the leg straps and the neck collar is lined and comfy.

I've only worn it so far in drizzle, where it was perfect. I'll try and update once it's been in a downpour. :-)

Overall I'd say this coat is worth the price and I actually do like it - but if you want a refined (and hence more expensive) version possibly look at other makes.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
It's a coat. It needs to be waterproof. To be fair, if anything had leaked I'd just re wax it but the thing is perfect.

I'm an XXXL guy fitting into a XXL coat with plenty of room to move and the length is more than enough to deposit the water onto my wellies rather than my calves.

The hood is particularly fine and functional.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
I read a number of reviews about this item before I decided to purchase. I have let a year go by before I decided to give my own review in order that I would have used the coat in different weather conditions before commenting. Please be aware that I have only used the coat as a casual outer garment and not in any way as would a professional outside worker such as a landscape gardener or gamekeeper who might possibly wear it all day for significant parts of the year.

The coat, mine is black, looks very smart and I still receive comments on how good it looks and questions as to where I bought it. There has not been much cold weather here in Wales this year but on the odd frosty day when I have worn it, the cold did not penetrate. My coat was well waxed and even though I have a supply of wax, I have not yet had to use it on this coat. It repels the water very successfully and has kept me completely dry, especially when wearing a pair of wellington boots to protect the lower parts of the legs from water. The coat is a very good length and only the lowest part of the legs are unprotected from the rain. Note that if you do not wear wellington boots, heavy rain will drip from the coat and soak your shoes - as is the case with every good raincoat! The coat is well made and the seams appear to be strongly constructed.

I have read some very poor reviews about this coat both in terms of the quality of material and the level of waterproofing. Now it might be that the 'manufacturer' sources the coat from different suppliers and thus they differ in quality, hence the conflicting reviews. I can only reflect on my experience which is of a very good solidly made coat. Based my experience as a casual user of the coat, I would highly recommend it as excellent value for money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
I am absolutely delighted with this coat/jacket! It is the best coat I think I have ever bought! I am 6"4 and quite a sturdy guy so I was a bit nervous about the fit, when I tried it on I was pleasantly surprised and relieved, it is more than big enough to wear a thick fleece underneath, and as it is not padded but lined you may need one in the winter, but the good thing is, in the summer it can be worn too without the fleece! I also think it looks great, I wouldn't say it was fashionable but it really does look great on and the storm cape across the shoulders and upper back make it not only look better but is also functionable too! At under £45 inc p&p you really can't go wrong, I have read a couple of reviews where the buyer wasn't happy as it was not fully waterproof (don't worry guys, it was just a couple, most people found this product as great as me) but what I would say to them is to buy a can of wax, you can spray it on like a deodorant tin just to give it that extra layer, it is still better than buying a coat for £250 and even then nothing is gauranteed!!!

Anyway, to wrap up (no pun intended) I completely endorse this wax weatherproof coat/jacket, the price is fantastic, it looks great, it keeps you warm and dry, the sizes are generous (maybe something to take into consideration when ordering but I say just order the size you are to accommodate extra layers underneath) and it looks real quality (people wouldn't disbelieve you if you said it cost £200 more than it actually did!) So go on, do yourself a favour and order this jacket today, you really won't be disappointed, I promise! I give it a 10/10! I am now hoping for it to rain so I have an excuse to go out and show it off to everyone lol!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
I'm 6 foot with a 44 chest and the XL is slightly too big for me on the body (though fine with a fleece). However arm length and overall length is ideal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
Some reviews gave conflicting messages on size and fit, well being 6' 2" and 16 stone I went for the XXL to be on the safe side and it fits perfectly. Enough room to take a heavy pullover, but still fine with just a lighter jersey. Effectively water and wind proof from day one. More than happy with it and am amazed at the overall quality for the money
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It fit OK thank you Peter Humphreys
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2016
As Descriobeds
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Brilliant fit. good quality workmanship. very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
A decent, heavy coat. There are straps for legs and arms, so brilliant if you go out in a storm.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)