Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 17 January 2018
Its a bit big but better ,to big than small 🙂
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2018
Bring on the rain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2012
Needed a coat that woupd keep me dry and be breathable. This coat does indeed keep out the wind and more importantly, the rain. Now worn it several times in some quite heavy downpours and have remained completely dry.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2015
I'm in two minds about this coat.

First the size. The chest size is as advertised (40-42) and fits my 42 chest well, but it is a bit tight across my shoulders. The sleeves could be a fraction (10mm) longer but the coat length is perfect for me (5' 10"). I can only wear a t-shirt and fleece under this, so it's not going to be warm enough in the winter but will be perfect for autumn/spring rainy days.

The hood. This is a useless thing. It's too small, both from the neck to the top of the head, and from front to back - it does not cover my head leaving an uncovered portion at the front. Perhaps the next size up has a hood that would fit?

The overall look is very good, even smart and is well thought out. However you can see where the money has been saved: The lining is not padded/quilted and really is just a protective inner to stop the coat (possibly) dirtying clothing; the poppers are flimsy and in some cases sewn right on the edge of the material. The zip however appears to be more robust, though it can be a bit fiddly to start off. However, the stitching appears to be good as are the leg straps and the neck collar is lined and comfy.

I've only worn it so far in drizzle, where it was perfect. I'll try and update once it's been in a downpour. :-)

Overall I'd say this coat is worth the price and I actually do like it - but if you want a refined (and hence more expensive) version possibly look at other makes.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2013
Very good coat for the price. Keeps you dry and warm. Be aware the sizes are generous. Only negative point, it could do with an additional fastener of some sort about 2-3 inches below the bottom of the zip as the flaps can blow open on occasions.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2013
It's a coat. It needs to be waterproof. To be fair, if anything had leaked I'd just re wax it but the thing is perfect.

I'm an XXXL guy fitting into a XXL coat with plenty of room to move and the length is more than enough to deposit the water onto my wellies rather than my calves.

The hood is particularly fine and functional.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2016
I read a number of reviews about this item before I decided to purchase. I have let a year go by before I decided to give my own review in order that I would have used the coat in different weather conditions before commenting. Please be aware that I have only used the coat as a casual outer garment and not in any way as would a professional outside worker such as a landscape gardener or gamekeeper who might possibly wear it all day for significant parts of the year.

The coat, mine is black, looks very smart and I still receive comments on how good it looks and questions as to where I bought it. There has not been much cold weather here in Wales this year but on the odd frosty day when I have worn it, the cold did not penetrate. My coat was well waxed and even though I have a supply of wax, I have not yet had to use it on this coat. It repels the water very successfully and has kept me completely dry, especially when wearing a pair of wellington boots to protect the lower parts of the legs from water. The coat is a very good length and only the lowest part of the legs are unprotected from the rain. Note that if you do not wear wellington boots, heavy rain will drip from the coat and soak your shoes - as is the case with every good raincoat! The coat is well made and the seams appear to be strongly constructed.

I have read some very poor reviews about this coat both in terms of the quality of material and the level of waterproofing. Now it might be that the 'manufacturer' sources the coat from different suppliers and thus they differ in quality, hence the conflicting reviews. I can only reflect on my experience which is of a very good solidly made coat. Based my experience as a casual user of the coat, I would highly recommend it as excellent value for money.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2015
Excellent buy very practical
I have waited some time to provide feedback on this purchase because I wanted to test it thoroughly. I have always wanted a long waxed coat and had a "waterproof" man-made coat in the past which was a big disappointment.
This product has not disappointed, the style I have is single breasted with a substantial zip, though I always use the studs to fasten it. It is long I am six foot tall (182 cm) and it drops below my knees about 7 inches 18cm. The coat is heavy because of the amount of and quality of the fabric and waxing. The waterproofing is very good I have been out for 6 hours marshalling for DOE in torrential rain and been dry as a bone. The coat feels cold because of the waxing but it is warm and very wind proof. Although I don’t ride I found the leg straps really useful in keeping protected and dry in heavy winds. The cuffs have studs so they can be tightened and the neck has a fastening which gives a comfortable closure to keep out the wind, the cord on the collar adds comfort to the collar. The seams are all strong and the overall quality is good.
This coat has been exposed to the elements heavy snow, torrential rain and severe wind and it has performed to an outstanding standard, buy with confidence.

I love this coat.

Things I would change.
A larger hood.
A full length lining (does not have to be cotton) my trousers all have a slight wax protection now.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2015
As with all purchases from this site excellent service quality and price always my first choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2017
I'm a 38 chest so got the small, 38-40. It was a little tight but not so much that the next size would have been better. After wearing a couple of times it feels fine. Fine on the fit anyway. This is a long coat and being wax impregnated it is heavy. I'm doing 4-5 mile walks in the rain and by the time I get back I'm comfortable with it. The lining is not thick but with the heavy outer fabric it's quite cosy.

I like the heavy brass zip that opens from either end. The pockets are wide and deep with generous flaps, easily accommodating my Iphone 6+, dog lead and hat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)