Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
CLR via C# (Developer Reference)
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£16.59


on 3 May 2017
A fantastic, clear and in-depth guide to the inner workings of c# and the CLR. I cannot recommend this book highly enough and wish I had read it before attending a couple of interviews!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
I would divide my career of C# developer in two parts, the one before reading this book and the one after. There is no chapter in this book that didn't disclose something that I didn't know about CLR before. It should be a mandatory read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2007
Well, you wouldn't expect less from Mr. Ritcher, would you?

First things first. This is not a book for the novice. While some of the initial chapters explain basic details of .NET and the CLR (being experienced, you can safely peruse past them quickly), most of the chapters explore the different topics in a clear, concise and, at the same time, deep enough way. The chapter on CLR Hosting is a good example of this. This chapter, as a representative sample of the rest of the book, delivers some deep geek CLR knowledge that most average developers are not aware of at all, with a highly praisable clearness and quality.

Mr. Ritcher manages to make you understand the topics, provides useful examples and, to sum it up, thus makes of his book a very good guideline repository to be kept at hand when developing. Keep in mind, though, this is not a reference book that explains all .net namespaces or anything like that. It is, however, a reference book on some topics, a few of them quite advanced, that any serious developer should review from time to time.

Richter and Petzold are the best!!! ;-)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Yesterday I've finally finished reading Jeffrey Richter's last book CLR via C#, 4th edition. I've been getting a copy of this book (buying or being lucky enough to get a review copy) since it was called Applied Microsoft .NET Framework Programming. Each new edition ends up adding new cool stuff and this last edition didn't disappoint. Besides Garbage Collector chapter rewrite, this latest edition introduces the new Reflection API (introduced by .NET 4.5) and presents several new concepts associated with the new WinRT framework. If you're a die hard C# programmer, you should be pleased to know that the book has been updated to illustrate the new C# 5.0 async features introduced by the latest .NET framework release.

So, this is really a book I love and fortunately for us developers, Jeffrey has been doing an excellent job of maintaining and updating it during these last years. In my opinion, this is still the .NET reference book every developer should buy and read. My score: 10/10.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2007
As others have noted: if you're a beginning C# programmer, look elsewhere. Right from the first chapter (which includes IL disassembly!) Richter doesn't compromise.

This is a great thing for more experienced developers. Highlights include the (outstanding) chapter on exceptions, explict interface method implementations and threading.

Best of all, despite this being a Microsoft Press book, he's not afraid to say that Microsoft was wrong. EIMIs, for instance, have several issues which he discusses in depth. Likewise the approach to exception handling preferred by FxCop isn't quite the same as the one he prefers.

Now that .NET 3.5 / Visual Studio 2008 is on the horizon, I'd like to see edition 3: I'd be willing to bet that there's subtleties in LINQ and some of the other new C# syntaxes that need his clarity. A supplement might be best, though, as I'd not want to see any material removed from this outstanding book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2007
This is just an update of Richter's previous book on .NET Framework but this time written for version 2.0. While I had read the previous book and that was just awesome, I expected it be very good but not having too much new stuff BUT sorry guys, IT IS A MUST HAVE BOOK even if you have already read earlier edition on 1.1.

Sometimes you feel that he is picking on things that are trivial in terms of performance, but hey, that is what we developers are for, picking on things that make a difference even if they are small.

One word for junior developers: you might find it too detailed and certainly it is not a reference of the language, though it is the most commonly referred to book I have ever read.

In one word, he is the master of the game and I thoroughly recommend it to you!!

Look forward to the one on .NET 3.0 and 3.5!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2008
As others have said, not ideal for anyone new to C#, but a must for those who have got to grips with the basics and who are looking to progress to the next level.

Everything from the content to the writing style makes this book almost impossible to put down! The chapters on Garbage Collection, Generics and Asynchronous Programming are superbly written meaning that the reader is not clouded with random fragments of information. The rest of the book is just as good.

After reading you will find yourself saying 'so thats how it works' which for a reference book is excellent.

Order a copy now, you will not be dissapointed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
It's impossible for me to give this book anything less that 5*
As always with software development, the devil is in the details and this ones hotter than Lucifers trident. But then again, with Mr R at the helm, were you expecting anything less?? (Any developer worth his salt will know that's a rhetorical question.) It's ALL exceptional stuff!
In my opinion, reading this book with .NET Fundamentals (Sells/Box) will put you on the path to software utopia - if there is such a thing. And even if you stray from the path your definitely heading in the right direction and will get there eventually.
Simply a must purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
Dont buy this book if you want an introduction to C#, but if you are a expereinced C# developer that wants indepth CLR/C# information explained in a clear and concise manner then Jeff Richter does a great job in clearly articulating his suject matter.

This is one of the best books I have seen on C# for a long time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2006
I had the Framework 1.1 version of this book and this new version is just as good. The book should be purchased just for the exception handling section alone.
This is an invaluable reference for developers.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)