Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.99

Save £4.00 (50%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Butterfly Summer: The perfect Summer Read that will make you cry and leave you uplifted by [Evans, Harriet]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Butterfly Summer: The perfect Summer Read that will make you cry and leave you uplifted Kindle Edition

3.8 out of 5 stars 132 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.99

Length: 448 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £3.49 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

The Butterfly Summer is an amazing achievement; heart-stopping and wonderful. It's an epic, sweeping, romantic story told brilliantly... I could practically feel the butterflies brushing against my cheeks as I read (Sophie Kinsella)

Loved it (Gill Hornby)

[A] delightfully engrossing read. . . Romance, danger and an intriguing legacy - an ideal holiday read (The Lady)

A delightfully engrossing read (Sarra Manning Red magazine)

Moving, gripping, heartbreaking (Kate Williams)

Great characters, gorge house, intriguing mystery, what's not to love?! (Lucy Diamond)

Multi-layered, heartbreaking and as beautiful as a butterfly wing (Veronica Henry)

A crumbling house in Cornwall and a family with lots of secrets are brought to life by the evocative writing in Harriet Evans' novel The Butterfly Summer (Good Housekeeping)

Gorgeous (Cathy Rentzenbrink Stylist)

Harriet Evans' writing is just perfect (Linda's Book Bag)

This absorbing, well-written book has a fairy-tale feel to it (Fabulous, Sun on Sunday)

Intriguing and full of twists and turns (T*Rexes and Tiaras Blog)

Book Description

A delightful new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Hopeless Romantic and A Place for Us

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1823 KB
  • Print Length: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Review (19 May 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B011IYID5U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars 132 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #8,045 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This book took quite a bit of getting into. I almost gave up about half way through, but decided to persevere as I had paid for it. All in all it was a good read, but one of the time change bits back to the past in particular was so confusing (this is when I nearly bailed). Preferred previous books by this author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Very enjoyable book, a good read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
great
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Nice
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Perfect
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
: I have read a lot of Harriet Evans books and was looking forward to this latest release. The book is half set in London and half in Cornwall and is a pretty bumper read. We meet the main character Nina Parr in 2011 and her life is not quite where she thought it would be. Although the story is told from Nina’s perspective we also see the story from Nina’s Grandmother Teddy’s perspective. Essentially the crux of the story revolves around the Parr family and it’s clear from the outset there are secrets and things that hold the generations of the Parr family together.

We are taken on a journey and each layer of the story is revealed and you find out a little more about the past, present and future. Nina was brought up by her Mum Delilah and Step Father Malc along with a helping hand in the form of Mrs Poll. Nina is currently dealing with a divorce to her ex-husband Sebastian and she has spent most of her adult life with him since Uni. I don’t want to spoil any other elements of the story so will not mention any other parts as it’s more fun to read and let them all be revealed.

For once I picked up the book and dove straight in without reading reviews or even the synopsis and for that I was glad. The story was a complete surprise and I found myself absorbed very early on. The first half of the book seemed to hold my interest more than the second half, but I still loved the story and by the time I had finished I was pleased I had continued on. I wouldn’t say this was my favourite of Harriet Evans books but it was still a great read.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Nina Parr, is an exceptionally gifted young by the age of 25 she has completed a Masters Degree and also has an abandoned Doctorate and a divorce under her belt. However, she is working in a menial clerical job at a solicitors. The only thing that keeps her sane is the life membership for the London Library her father bought for her, when she was 6 months old, before he went away meaning that she is now able to spend her lunchtimes in quiet reflection away from the hustle and bustle of the world.
All of Nina's days follow much of the same pattern making cups of tea, filing and ordering stationary until one day she meets a mysterious lady in the library who will change the order of Nina's life forever.
I loved the fact that in this book there were 2 stories running concurrently - the story of Nina and the story of Nina's ancestors which tell the intriguing story of the Parr family and Keepsake.
Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Kate Riordan and Rachel Hoare, this book was totally not what I was expecting by looking at the cover. From the cover you expect some whimsical chick lit romance. This is one instance where you mustn't judge a book by its cover.
The Butterfly Summer was a gripping read and the story had me hooked from the start and the best twist in the book is left until the very end.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Being a big fan of Harriet's books meant that I was really looking forward to getting stuck into this one.

The first thing that intrigued me was Nina's relationship with her ex-husband. Why did they get divorced? Why were they still so close? Would they get back together? This was quickly followed by questions about her father and the woman in the red tights. Who was she? What was the truth about her father? I felt like there was a magical twist headed my way!

As the mystery slowly unravelled, I found myself coming up with all sorts of theories. A couple of which were not too far from the truth.

There was a lot of back-story and this was something I didn't enjoy reading as much as I normally would, my attention seemed to wander during those parts. The present day scenes were another matter though, they really held my interest.

The Butterfly Summer was not my favourite from this author but an enjoyable family mystery nonetheless.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
click to open popover