Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2013
This item arrived quickly and was well protected in its card packaging. An excellent little guide where all the butterflies are actual life size images. The 58 most often seen species that you are most likely to encounter (the other 10 are that rare you probably won't!). Laminated product so can be taken out in the field and includes useful info on all things butterfly on the reverse side. Good inexpensive ID to UK Butterflies.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
This is great for IDing butterflies out in the field. Simple enough for beginners to understand, serves as a useful reminder for more experienced surveyors and highly practical for quick consultation when a butterfly flutters by!

My only complaint is that some of the illustrations are slightly misleading. A few species can appear slightly different than they do on here, leading to so confusion for first timers! I would highly recommend buying a complimentary guide such as the "Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland" by Richard Lewington to gain some familiarity with variability.

All-in-all though you couldn't ask for a better simple, convenient and reasonably priced guide!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
A really handy, and sturdy guide to accompany my "Pocket Guide to the Butterflies of Great Britain and Ireland). The "Pocket" guide, requires a very large pocket - and this laminated guide is even larger. I have purchased a shoulder-bag, in which I can put all the guides I have purchased, to help me learn about butterflies and moths.

I am a mere beginner, but my interest is growing by the day. Thanks to guides such as this one, my knowledge is increasing too.

I would highly recommend this little guide to anyone with an interest in our beautiful butterflies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Bought this for a study, to be used by people unfamiliar with butterflies.

The guide folds down into a nice small size, and the laminated cover means it is waterproof, so great for throwing into the back of a bag and using in the field. The illustrations are beautiful and give good indication of the size of the butterflies in real life, aiding further in identification.

The back of the images give good, basic information on butterfly life cycles too. I'd recommend this if you're thinking about getting it, it's really handy to have - all the FSC guides of this range that I have (butterflies, mammal tracks, moorland plants) are fantastic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Very nice fold out guide. All the information I required to be able to easily identity the butterflies in the garden, and out and about . The guide is laminated, so will cope with general field use. Very good images on one side of the guide, and all text and details on the reverse of the guide. The Field Studies Council do a wide range of guides that fit nicely into your rucksack. Quick delivery. Many thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
Beautifully illustrated chart with a variety of size as well as colour. Butterflies on one side and information about
butterfly life on the other. A real bargain and very lovely on the wall. Excellent for identifying butterflies in the garden
very happy with it, although don't expect a large wallchart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
This is a very useful book especially when I was doing a project on Butterfiles. The pictures are very clear and is a talking point when doing
discussions with a group of trainee gardeners. Even my tutors were impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Another really helpful guide for the field - even if you only use it to give you a rough ID to check against more detailed descriptions of species. The groupings according to colour were very useful when catching live specimens. I used it as part of a secondary school field trip. Would have been useful to see a view of the wings closed for more species but that is being picky
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
The fabulous pictures of the butterflies were true to life and the guide is not too big making it nice and easy to take with you when out and about enjoying nature. It's lamented too so it should last ages. Great product and just what I was loøking for and at a very reasonable price thank you so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
I love insects and identifying British Wildlife and this is an easy simple way to do it for beginners and pros. It fold out into 4 of the pages in the image with clear pictures and names and a key with lots of facts on the back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)