Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 March 2018
I had heard, as I think everyone else has, that Business Adventures was a favourite book of Bill Gates and Warren Buffet. I read the ebook, and I understand a print version will be forthcoming in September.

This book makes me feel as though I'm sitting at the knee of my grandfather, listening to wise recollections.
A writer of articles in the 1950's and 1960, many for the New Yorker, the author intelligently and thoughtfully steps through 12 events, one per chapter.

At first, I thought perhaps I was particularly dense and wasn't getting the message. What held these stories together? Eventually, I realized that the author is not driving home a point, selling anything, or giving advice. His observations leave room for the reader to consider events, their connections, their parallels to today, the importance of character, and the question of morality in business. It was refreshing not to be told what to think.

I enjoyed the stories of Ford's Edsel, Piggly Wiggly, Xerox, Goodrich vs Latex.

The chapter on the federal income tax is particularly relevant, given the wide-spread debate about taxes and modern conversations about the 1%.

John Brooks' perspective is firmly rooted in the past, when the book was written and provides readers opportunity for a sense of omniscience since we can consider ramifications the author himself could not be aware of, at that time.

Details may change. People do not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2018
Dense and well written stories that are history. In the 60s the stock market was a fraction of what it is now and the world of the internet, high speed computing and autonomous vehicles didn’t exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2018
Read - but think of your own experience, too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2016
Three chapters in and I m not over the moon. Although the subjects covered should be exciting the author fails to be crisp and to the point. Unlike M Lewis he is unable to describe the topics in detail whilst remaining to the point. Will likely give up soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2015
Not an insight into modern business, but an interesting historical perspective that can provide a valuable background to today's environment. It's also relatively easy to absorb.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2016
Personally I found this book more enjoyable when listening with the audio upgrade version. I feel this is because some of the stories can go in to a lot of detail around figures and listening seemed to help with the flow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2014
Easy and enjoyable to read, this book takes you through many businesses issues, legal, financial, marketing and product development, so you learn by observation. It's written in a journalistic style, recounting true cases, many being key in shaping laws. Whilst a little dated now, it's illuminating actual history which is riveting to understand
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2016
Excellent seller item with a great product very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2014
You don't disagree with Mr. Gates! Personally I looked the Edsel story the most, for its display of how fallible Research can be if devoid of customer insights. the income tax study comes a second close.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2014
Fascinating insights about business from the late 60s that are scarily true today, despite the huge changes in technology and the markets in the meanwhile.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse