FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Burn (Pure Trilogy 3) has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by JULIES-BOOKSHOP
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: An EX LIBRARY copy in VERY GOOD condition.May have some library identification marks/stamps. Daily dispatch from UK warehouse. This book is in VERY GOOD overall condition, showing only light signs of previous ownership.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Burn (Pure Trilogy 3) Hardcover – 4 Feb 2014

3.9 out of 5 stars 35 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover, 4 Feb 2014
£12.99
£5.84 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£12.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • Burn (Pure Trilogy 3)
  • +
  • Fuse
  • +
  • Pure
Total price: £29.97
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (4 Feb. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 075538556X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0755385560
  • Product Dimensions: 15.7 x 3.7 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (35 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 544,856 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

'A great, gorgeous novel, boundless in its imagination. You will be swept away' (Justin Cronin, New York Times bestselling author of The Passage)

'Discomfiting and unforgettable' (The New York Times)

'A post-apocalyptic thrill ride, filled with wildly inventive characters whose journey of struggle and revolution manifests as a fast-paced narrative full of promise and hope. As visceral and kinetic as it is socially relevant, PURE is bursting with imagination and epic adventure. Baggott is here to stay. And we are all the beneficiaries' (Steven Schneider, producer of Paranormal Activity I and II)

'A dark adventure that is both startling and addictive at once. Pressia Belze is one part manga heroine and one part post-apocalyptic Alice, stranded in a surreal Wonderland where everyone and everything resonates with what has been lost. Breathtaking and frightening. I couldn't stop reading PURE' (Danielle Trussoni, bestselling author of ANGELOLOGY)

Book Description

The final part in the PURE trilogy for fans of THE PASSAGE, THE ROAD and THE HUNGER GAMES.

See all Product Description

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Quicksilver TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 15 Feb. 2014
Format: Hardcover
I approached Burn in some trepidation. It's the final book of the 'Pure' trilogy. I found Book 1, Pure, to be a dark, brooding dystopia with strong themes, and more meat than your average YA post-apocalypse dinner. Book 2, Fuse, however, I found less satisfactory. The characterisation was strong, but the story was more generic, less interesting. So which way would Burn take things, downwards, or upwards towards greatness? If you haven't read the first two books, it goes without saying you should stop reading at the end of this sentence, but do look Pure up; Burn elevates the series to heady heights.

Whilst Burn picks up right where Fuse leaves off, there is an almost immediate change in tone. We're mostly inside the dome now and there is an urgency about the plot. The first two books were essentially quest stories. This is more like a ticking bomb with time running out. The burning question in the book is - How can Partridge move out of the shadow of his father? I said in my review of Fuse, that the portrayal of Ellery Willux was heavy handed. He was almost too perfect a villain, too calculating and accurate in his assessments to be fully credible. Killing him made the man.

Alive, Willux Snr left no room for doubt. He was a maniac with absolute control and this diminished the story. There was never a sense that, actually, he might have a point (contrast this with Patrick Ness and Mayor Prentice, a man the reader is programmed to hate, and then suddenly, there are countless shades of grey and we're not sure what to believe).
Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Kate TOP 500 REVIEWER on 12 Feb. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
Finally, one of the most memorable and outstanding dystopian trilogies comes to the end that we have been waiting for none too patiently. It all began with Pure - what a highlight of 2012 it was. A world destroyed by Detonations, nothing less than an apocalyptic World War, when people were fused to whatever they were holding or embracing at the time, whether animate or inanimate, becoming Wretches. It is proving impossible to forget the Mothers - women fused to the child at their hip - or the Dusts - souls consumed by the earth itself, with no human purpose left except to kill those more fortunate who walk upon their living graves. Not all were damaged, though. A few were selected for a more golden future, sealed before the Detonations into a Dome where they could live as Pures. At one time, Wretches viewed Pures as benevolent carers. Not any more.

As Burn is the final part of the trilogy, there is no reason why you should read it before first devouring Pure and Fuse. Spoilers for both of those are inevitable here so do please give yourself a treat and begin at the beginning and catch up.

Burn begins immediately as Fuse ends. Partridge is back in the Dome among the Pures while Pressia and the others return from Ireland to meet up with him, releasing the cure among Wretches while bring the rule of the Pure to an end. As a result, Burn is much more focused upon these two distinct strands. Whereas in the previous two books, where the chapters piled on the mysteries, the twists and the shocks, in Burn the story is much more targeted. Pressia and Partridge are on a course to the end and nothing will divert them from their purpose.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm going to be kind to this book as the first book of the trilogy, "Pure", was so exceptional. However, the last installment in the trilogy was a mighty disappointment. The characters were constantly fluctuating from one temper to another, from one vocation to another uncertainty. The story didn't know where it was going and I certainly felt that as the chapters filed past. The premise was very clever and the characters started off being very interesting, it's just a shame it didn't follow through.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Paul Tapner TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 25 Nov. 2014
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Third and final volume in the 'Pure' trilogy. A post apocalyptic story for young adult readers. This volume is absolutely not a jumping on point since there is no exposition at all to bring you up to speed or mention what passed before. So new readers should start with book one Pure (Pure Trilogy).

Regular readers, read on.

This volume runs for four hundred and fifty six pages. It is divided into many short chapters, with a different viewpoint character to each. As with the other books, these are in third person present tense.

It is the last in the series, and brings the story to an end.

Picking up from the end of book two, Partridge is now ruling the Dome. A job where he is terrified of becoming just like his father. But in a place where there people with many vested interests, trying to do the right thing might not be a good idea.

Pressia and others have, in the meantime, found what they need in order to deal with the Dome. A long and dangerous journey there awaits.

With a lot of trilogies the first volume tends to have the most impact, and what comes next is never going to feel quite as original by comparison. It takes a really strong story to go the full three book length. This one does feel like a bit of a slow burn at first, and Partridge does spend a lot of time being pulled around and acting rather than reacting.

Pressia's journey is interesting enough but doesn't have the impact that scenes in earlier books did.

It's the kind of book where you are turning pages, hooked but awaiting a really big event. But it actually does deliver in that respect.

The ending is a powerful one.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback