Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2001
I love the writing style and humour of Tubal Cain. The book is a good introduction for anyone wanting to build steam engines. If you are a raw beginner in Model Engineering some parts can be a little hard to understand, but you don't have to be a pro to get enjoyment from the book. Some of the designs use castings which might not be available any more. However, the parts could be machined instead. A very enjoyable read.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2004
An excellant book that compliments the first book Simple Model Steam Engines,it has excellant and well laid out plans and drawings of differant steam engines which can easily be constructed on the small lathe.The Models are very nostalgic and once completed make excellant presents or gifts.Buy the book and add some more engines to your collection as ive done.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
Excellent guide to making simple steam engines. It's an entertaining read too if you are interested in engineering.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
What more can you say. Tubal is on his own when it comes to fantastic simple to make, great functional steam engines. I bought the Jenny Wren plans 35 years ago and made it at that time. It still works perfectly and looks the business.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
this book gives plans for small boilers and small steam engines, very good for beginners would highly recommend as a first project
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
Like almost everything written by Tubal Caib - EXCELLENT.

Good, practical, advice, clearly written with good diagrams.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
The book arrived promptly and well packaged, with correct postage pre-paid. The explanations and examples are well done for even the novice, me, to understand. I've just got my first model to run. I intend to build them all before going onto the big project I have in mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
This book is a first class starter book for anyone building
thier first entry into model steam engines.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Personally, I found the instructions difficult to follow and the diagrams - which have very thick line work - difficult to follow. What's more the assembly instructions were woefully lacking. I do not feel that I could assemble any of the projects in this book, even had I the proper equipment to do so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
What a delightful and well-explained book this is. It shows in simple terms how to build a working model steam engine and details how it works. If, like me, you'd like to start actually making engines this is a good and inexpensive place to start.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)