Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 12 April 2016
Purchased a long while back, what a great Author very detailed information and easy on the eye
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 1998
The first edition was entirely hand-drawn (the 2nd ed. may be as well) and covers the difference between a hip and a gable roof, slabs, grade beams and other details of modern construction. If you want to know the difference between western platform and balloon framing, this is a fine book. It's primarily a reference book, but it could be read cover to cover.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2010
anyone who has seen or used these books before will know what a fantastic resourse they are

brilliant detailing, excellent for technicians, architects and designers alike

well worth the money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 1998
This book gives simple guides to design work. Like a simplified "Graphic Standards". Ching offers super illustrations, lots of details and answers a lot of questions for me as an architecture student. I recommend to all designers.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2011
Lots of information.
Lots of explanatory drawings.
Easy to read and flick through.

I just wished there was a version using the metric system...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
While beautifully written and extremely well presented, this book is written for American construction and is completely unsuitable for students studying construction technology in the UK because the terminology and even the units of measurement are simply WRONG. Any UK student relying on Ching for construction will get low marks because the work will be incorrect. If you want a good textbook Barry's Introduction to Construction of Buildings is the only one I have found that is comprehensively correct and up to date.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
If you're an Architect student and you don't have this. Get it. It's phenomenal, the work that has gone into creating this biblical monstrosity guide to how buildings do ANYTHING/EVERYTHING blows my mind. It's an everlasting fountain of knowledge on this topic, the drawings are clear, the index is solid. As far as your degree goes you will never make a better investment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2009
I am currently following an Energy Assessor course and am not to familiar with building methods.This book gives all that detail in clear diagrams that i can understand [ and if i can then anybody should be able ]. I can certainly recommend this book to other beginners wanting to learn about building methods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2016
I used this book when I was doing my degree in Architecture and it saved my life when it came to articulating the technical build up of components and it helped me understand details. The images are clear and the accompanying text is easy to understand. Francis D. K. Ching always produces great books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
perfect for any architecture student or related.
very cheap compared to most design books, grab one and keep it.
Gives so much help and understanding to construction, itll cover more than you think too, like solar shading etc...
One to keep for the personal library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)