Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2017
Better than add said and very fast posting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
This book did not feel as though it was easy to follow at times. Also there is no mention of how to fit the steering wheel!! i.e. how do you shift it from your old car to your own made car??? - I hated this so much and felt as though it was a waste of my money... It also doesnt clearly show you how to do electrical wirings i.e. pictures/diagrams of how to do it, which made it even harder to follow..There's no clear explanation mounting your engine either...This book misses so much, that as a beginner its an absolute waste of time to get anything from, the reason I give it at least 3 stars is because it at least gives you leads on how to learn to build a car i.e. applying to vehicle restoration courses and the basics to welding. These were a few handy things I need to take on board, but I felt as though this book still missed things and at times isn't helpful...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2008
If you have always fancied building a 7 style sportscar but were put of by the price of most kits then this could be the book for you. The book details how to build a complete car from fabricating the chassis to passing the SVA, some areas are covered better that others but overall it's very good and tells you most of what you need to know. As you can purchase parts and materials as you require them you don't need to buy everything at once. Chris Gibbs together with Martin Keenan have designed a very solid chassis which will build into a very nice finished car. A growing list of companies are supporting the roadster which mean if you don't fancy getting covered in fibreglass you can but the bits ready made. Help is also available on the dedicated Haynes Forum, go on buy a copy and get the garage cleared out you know you want to. Me I started building mine a few days ago.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2011
After buying this book, I have finally started my build. I would recommend joining the Haynes Roadster internet forum for more detailed information and updates of mistakes in the first edition of the book. All in all a book which introduces you to the roadster, shows how to initially go about procuring parts and a short section on the SVA. Highly recommended, Dave.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2007
As I am seriously thinking of building my own type of "locost" sports car, I was looking for some in-depth information. This book is very clear and well thought of, explaining about every step in the creation process of "building your own sports car", but my opinion is that the author wants to tell you too much in too less pages. Especially the chapter about manufacturing grp moulds and mouldings for the body panels is over way too quick. You definitely need other publications and some surfing to find out the real finesses.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
having purchased the book and read it twice, i can arrive at this conclusion. This is a guide book not a self build manual. as stated on many lo-cost sites the book does contain errors concerning the length of certain chassis pieces. not good if you have already welded them up. the internet is vital for more information. overall though the book got me hooked. currently getting my welding skills up to scratch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
I've bought most of these books, and built a Locost or two. My biggest gripe with this book is that its totally focused on promoting MK Engineering in terms of them selling you parts. There is a large community of Locost builders and suppliers that this book could have supported, but, they've changed the designed of so much of the car so that no "Locost" parts from the original books fit, all as a way of promoting the components from MK. The result is that Locost builders don't have a way to solve their donor car issues, and Haynes Roadster builders don't have access to cheap parts from a competitive market. Builders outside of the UK are really struggling, with no access to parts or donor cars. Just be aware that this book needs to go hand in hand with a lot of research in terms of suupliers and design. There are also a ton of errors in the book, so check the forums for details of the fixes for this.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2007
This book is a must have for anyone even contemplating building a car from scratch. No it does not go into great detail about making fibreglass panels etc but then again a sierra manual doesn't cover diesel engines or specialist equipment, you would be expected to buy a book or do a college course to be able to do this and the same would go for spray painting I would imagine.
What this book does is give a good grounding for building a car from scatch. I have a lot of my steel sitting in my garage ready to go.
Buy this book you won't regret it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Use this along with the internet forums available. Too much emphasis on buying parts from MK engineering, Some of the parts apparently no longer matching the original design. A good read non the less and shelved until winter and I have nothing to entertain myself with. Still a good guide or grounding in what to do. Just not a reference "bible". However since reading it I have noticed how many of these vehicles are out there (spotted 3 in one day), so it can't be that far out. Only time will tell. Looking forward to starting my own this winter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Everything you need to know about constructing or making parts for your kit car in your garage
A very interesting read with so inovotive ideas, a must have book for any home builder, racer or kit car enthusiast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)