Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 July 2017
Is not new version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
THIS BOOK IS 8 YEARS OUT OF DATE PUBLISHED IN 2009 AND AT LEAST 6 OR MORE WINDOWS OPERATING SYSTEMS OUT OF DATE TOO AS IT REFERS ALL THE TIME TO WINDOWS VISTA. ALL THE SUGGESTED WEBSITES AND PRICES ARE COMPLETELY USELESS. BUY AN UP TO DATE BOOK OR A LOT OF THIS WILL BE TOTALLY USELESS IF YOU WANT TO BUILD A PC.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
I don't mind letting you know i am 55 years old (which could be a handicap age wise) and i am disabled person who is housebound, in a wheelchair and have to take medication daily which causes short term memory loss, which in turn made me ask the question is "Build Your Own PC For Dummies" the book for me? I gave it a lot of thought and was afraid it would be to technical for me to purchase this book, what with my memory. I can now say with my hand on my heart that there was nothing to worry about as the book is like in my opinion as easy as A.B.C and easy to read, you are not caught up with technical jargon when reading it (which was worrying me) everything is explained in plain English. You start at the beginning thinking the worse but there was no need to worry it tells you about every part and explains what the parts are and what they do, it is the first book about PC's that really helped and i would recommend to anyone thinking about trying to build their own PC to get this book and they will see how well the book is laid out and a pleasure to read and use, i would also recommend "Build Your Own PC For Dummies" for people like myself, who's memory is not perfect because if you forget something just look it up, it's like a PC Bible and i am pleased i had the courage to buy it and i would say to you, "go on give it a try" and i don't think you will regret buying it. Thanks for reading this review and have a nice day. Andy.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
Excellent book to help me work on my computer. Added new hard drive and Blu-ray drive to my desktop with help from this book.Well worth the money as easy to follow
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
The book is really helpful with the basic stuff, however you will find that at some points it seems a little outdated-which isn't surprising considering how far computer technology has come in the last few years. I advise you do your own research when it comes to what motherboard and CPU you use since the ones recommended in the book are bordering on obsolete.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
This book isn't just for dummies. Even if your an advanced user but not a pro at assembly you will find this book very helpful. great for both beginners and intermediate computer users. and considering all the information in it. much better value than any pc build book on the market.
only downside for me as a UK customer is that the websites recommended in the book are all American and some do not deliver to UK.
Other than that a very good book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
Using this book i managed to build a damn good PC (which im using now to write this review), i had zero PC hardware knowledge at first but everything was explained very well i thought and by the end i was armed with enough knowledge to know what to buy, what to avoid and what to do.

Definately worth adding to your bookshelf if you're planning to build your first PC.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
I bought this book as it looked the ideal one when building a computer. How wrong i was. It has very poor presentation, the pictures are vague and the man presenting it is very very annoying. Huge steps are missed out in the building process which means that if you follow this you will become unstuck somewhere along the line and have to find the information elsewhere. He installed a video card but didn't even connect the pci express power supply to it? As seen in the crass video. Now if you did this it would'nt run. He seems more concerned in preventing static build up than anything else. I went down the library and picked up another build your own computer book and it was 10.000 times better. Full colouresd pictures. Full explanation of setting up bios. This book really is for dummies. BEWARE DO NOT BUY
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
If you want a good reference book that you can dip in and out of, then the 'Dummies' books are the best. Well written, easy to understand and less geeky than you would expect of technical books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Well the guides are very clear and it recommends all the stuff (HARD DRIVE, GRAPHICS CARD ETC.) you need for different performances you want.I recommend this for any one attempting to build a computer from scratch. The only thing is that you could probably use YouTube as it offers the same info but for free, it's just a matter of opinion if you like reading from instruction or watching free vids about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)