Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Cassette|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Pirates have to be at least a little evil and tortured, but Tim Severin's protagonist is too much of a Goody Two Shoes. His merry band of friends pitted against their comic-opera captains brought Enid Blyton's 'Famous Five' to mind at times, with lashings of ginger rum. The dialogue was not nearly earthy or menacing enough. Severin has obviously read the relevant journals which survive from Sharp's cruise. Although he edits and alters some facts, which is his right as a fiction novelist, the main historical themes emerge accurately. Details of maritime life are well explained, even if they are 'crow-barred' into the narrative rather crudely. He's sharing his research like a schoolteacher and sugaring the pill with a half-hearted adventure story. It's the characterisation that disappoints, being formulaic and shallow. We are left mildly entertained, not captured, by his pirates, and we can get the history elsewhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A riproaring adventure that continues on from Tim's previous novel Corsair. Whilst the first was a little slow to begin with this one doesn't hesitate and goes full tilt to the yard arm with all guns blazing. Cracking adventure, intriguing characters with just a dash of luck in the right places. This makes this latest offering not only hard to put down but a tale to keep the colours flying. An epic in the making in much the same way as Tim's Viking trilogy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
A holiday read because I was going to that part of the world, I enjoyed reading it, and it flowed pretty fast. I had a problem with not ever really getting to know the main character, apart from dreaming about pretty girls (and who doesn't do that!) I did not get much of a feel about who he was and what drove him, apart from self preservation. I thought some of the coincidences over thousands of miles of sea were a little unlikely, and I did not get a strong sense of the time passing, which stretched several years but felt like a few weeks. Overall it is readbale and quite entertaining, some of the fight and action scenes are good. but I'm not sure I will rush to read the rest of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
I actually think this book was really good. OK, it's not perfect, but still I ploughed through the story and found it was easy to follow, the story good, characters interesting and the imagery clear. It is better than the first in the series, but I have found both books an entertaining read. I just found it great to follow the character as he moved from place to place across the Caribbean and the characters and places he came across.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 November 2012
"Buccaneer" is an enjoyable read - well written with enjoyable characters. I enjoyed it but it is a bit directionless: the book actually doesn't have any sort of plot. Instead it is a series of enjoyable episodes featuring Hector Lynch and his pals. There is no over-aching plot to bind it together or drive it towards a thrilling conclusion.

It is engagingly written, and I liked the characters, so I'll probably read the next in the series, but it's not gripping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2008
I can't agree with the previous review as I enjoyed this book, as much as its predecessor, "Corsair."

I thought it was fast moving, very knowledgeable, and thoroughly enjoyable, and, frankly, I can't wait for the next adventure of Hector Lynch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
I bought this book as a double pack with Corsair. It's a long way off the entertainment quality of Bernard Cornwell but it's not without it's merits. The author is a lecturer and it does show. He obviously knows his stuff and wants to pass that knowledge on but he's a bit cack handed at doing it. The information is layered on top of the sparse plot as superfluous information that clunks as it is read. People just don't talk in this way and it grates every time he does it, which is often.

I preferred the setting of Corsair to be honest. The Barbary coast and Muslim pirates was a new and refreshing concept to me and moving the action across the Atlantic has taken away the novelty that made up for the subpar prose.

Worth a read but only as a bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2009
This is the sequel to the first book: Corsair, it will certainly not disappoint those who loved the opening instalment.

Action packed as you would expect, the book follows the lives of the Buccaneers as they raid Spanish South America in search of plunder!

It is absolutely essential that you read Corsair before this book as the relationships between Hector and his friends are soundly established in the first book and you need that `inside knowledge' to fully appreciate the beauty of this novel.

If you enjoy novels containing pirates and seafaring then this series is highly recommended. Start with the first book and you will be eagerly anticipating this excellent read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
Buccaneer is the sequel to Corsair. In this outing Hector Lynch is the Caribbean. With his friends Dan and Jacques, he becomes involved in a pirate adventure, raiding the Spanish Main.

I thought this book was better, than the earlier one. There are many interesting characters in it, and a lot of good action scenes, along the way. Hardly, a dull moment throughout! It is a good old fashioned adventure story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
This book continues the pirate adventures of Hector Lynch in the New world. It is very interesting in a historical sense ,the plot carries you along .If i have one quibble it is the depth of character , i do not get a feel for what is driving Hetor on . It carries on well from Corsair and leaves you wanting to find out what happens next. It is a shame that we do not care more about hector
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here