Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £7.39

Save £9.56 (56%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Brothers & Lovers by [Davidson, Michael]
Kindle App Ad

Brothers & Lovers Kindle Edition

4.0 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£7.39

Length: 438 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Summer Sale
Choose from over 450 books on sale from 99p. Shop now
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

About the Author

Michael J. Davidson was born in 1940, in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. Educated at Grey High School, he qualified as a Dental Surgeon at Wits University, Johannesburg, in 1962, emigrating to London soon after. He practiced Dentistry in surgeries in Kensington and Harrow, retiring in 2005. He has attended several Creative Writing Workshops during the past two decades, under published authors Dennis Evans, Hil Slavid and currently Siobhan Curham. Siobhan has played a most important role in the progress of 'Brothers and Lovers' editing, encouraging and most of all, enthusing about the project from the outset. In 1998 he published with co-author Karen Hogan, 'Odd Bedfellows' a compilation of Poetry and Prose. His sports and hobbies include skiing, scuba diving squash, tennis, swimming, playing jazz piano and writing lyrics for festive occasions which he sometimes allows himself to be persuaded to perform! Married to Julia since 1967, they have three daughters, Laoise, Sara and Aviva, and one son-in-law, Alon, married to Sara who have presented them with three gorgeous grandchildren, Maya, Guy and Natalie Further writing ambitions include publishing a collection of his poems and also a small volume entitled 'My letters to Editors that they never published!' The Davidsons live in Harrow on the Hill, Middlesex

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1136 KB
  • Print Length: 438 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Galactic Publishers Limited; First Edition edition (7 Sept. 2011)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005LSS5CG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #428,028 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top customer reviews

Format: Paperback
Michael J Davidson's story of a doomed love affair in a small South African city in the 1950's is an engaging read. Brothers and Lovers is his first novel.

The relationship between the teenage Crystal (Afrikaans) and her Jewish boyfriend Raymond is bitterly opposed by her right wing anti-Semitic father. Also his orthodox parents forbid continued liaison . Family conflicts and sibling rivalry abound! He leaves the city to study in Johannesburg and has other relationships. There is pathos as the death of his younger brother from a brain tumour is described with deep emotions coming though.
One of the funniest episodes is on the liner up the east coast of Africa where he is willingly seduced by an older woman, whose fiancé joins the boat at the next port.
The ribald humour moves well, often with a fast flowing dialogue.
There are many complexities and twists to this novel, and it gives an excellent portrayal of life in a white middle class environment in the Apartheid era.
I thoroughly recommend it as a very good read and look forward to sequels from the `Portnoy of Port Elizabeth!'
2 Comments 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This is essentially a historical novel, tracing the fortunes of a Jewish family over a period of more than 50 years. It is an authentic account of the political and cultural problems of South Africa, and in that sense I found it quite educational. The details of everyday life are fascinating.

It portrays ideological clashes within the family and a fair amount of sibling rivalry. In the tradition of Romeo and Juliet and Westside Story, the Jewish protagonist and an Afrikaans girl fall in love, attracting the wrath of their respective families.

Although the novel is an action-packed page-turner, the characters are well-drawn and believable. The intimate physical scenes, of which there is no shortage, are very well written.

In some novels phonetic spelling can be a problem, slowing the reader down, but not so in this case. It is so expertly done that it greatly enhances the reader's enjoyment. You effortlessly hear the South African and Jewish accent.

The novel ends in a surprising, unconventional way.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
A truly outstanding book. I struggled to put the book down. The writer cleverly brings a saga of politics, romance and religion into this delightful novel full of unlimited twists and turns over a period of 50 odd years. You can never guess the next part. In every chapter you read, you will be gripped to the edge of your chair desparate to find out what will happen next and whether there will be a happy ending for everyone.

A short (so the reader does not get the feeling they are reading a history text book!) but clear insight of South African politics merge with the complications of different religions. The writer does not hide the normal 'silent' truths of such reality, instead, he tells us in black and white, exactly what the outcome can be from complicated backgrounds, in this case, an orthadox Jewish man and a young Afrikans lady with a father of severely right wing anti-Semitic views.

If Michael is planning a sequel to this book, (which I hope he is) he's going to have a hard job to match the magnificance of this one.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The way the book is constructed is more like an autobiography than a novel and it is written in a very amateurish style. The author appears to be a smug, pompous, selfish man, without an ounce of humility or self-criticism, or regrets or an ability to laugh at himself, or empathy with others. He sees himself as a very succesful dentist and a brilliant skier. Oh, and an irresistibly sexy man and lover, with endless descriptions of these encounters (in Africa, on the ship, in London, back in Africa) in a very unimaginative boring style. If it is a novel then he should have developed other characters as well, not just himself.

The point that I found interesting was the description of racist prejudice of Afrikaaners towards the Jews and the mistrust of Jews towards Afrikaaners.

I wouldn't recommend this book as I was irritated most of the time by its style . I finished it because i hoped for some change in his character as he matured, but none happened. He is very lucky to have found a publisher!!!!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Books about sex and politics have always sold well, and there is no reason why this book should be any different.

The politics concerns Apartheid in South Africa and its effect on various members of a middle class Jewish family. The sex centers on the hero, a virile South African stud, as he grows up in South Africa and moves in later chapters to England. The author has cleverly introduced each chapter by setting out the world events, both political and cultural, that cover the period contained in this riviting story.

The book is well written. However, I have a small quibble with one of the early chapters where the author uses phonetic spelling when quoting the South African vanacular, which I found slowed down my reading. Don't let this put you off. It is worth the effort, as the rest of the book is a pleasure to read.

I understand this is the author's first book and I look forward to his next.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover