£9.95 + £2.80 delivery
Only 1 left in stock. Sold by historybookshop

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Britten: Billy Budd

5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

Price: £9.95
See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 23 Feb 1998
£9.95 £2.33
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by historybookshop.
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Amazon's Kent Nagano Store

Product details

  • Performer: Thomas Hampson, Anthony Rolfe Johnson, Eric Halfvarson, Russell Smythe
  • Orchestra: Manchester Boys' Choir, Northern Voices
  • Conductor: Kent Nagano
  • Composer: Benjamin Britten
  • Audio CD (23 Feb. 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Erato
  • ASIN: B000006CS4
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 214,020 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Prologue
  2. Pull, my bantams
  3. Send for John Claggart
  4. Billy Budd, king of the birds!
  5. I heard, your honour!
  6. Come along, kid!
  7. Christ, the poor chap, the poor little runt!
  8. Vere! Vere! - Officers and men...
  9. My compliments...
  10. Don't like the French!
  11. Oh, that's nothing
  12. Blow her away...
  13. Here Iads!
  14. Come out of that!
  15. O beauty, o handsomeness
  16. Come here! Remember your promise
  17. Billy! Hist, Billy Budd!
  18. Dansker, old friend

Disc: 2

  1. I dont't like the look of the mist
  2. Deck ohoy!
  3. All guns ready, Sir!
  4. there are you again, Master-at-Arms
  5. Nay, nay, you're mistaken
  6. Claggart, John claggart, beware!
  7. You wanted to see me
  8. God o mercy!
  9. Interlude 'William Budd, you are accused'
  10. Poor fellow, who could save him?
  11. I accept their verdict
  12. Look!... Through the Port Comes the Moonshine Astray!
  13. And farewell to ye
  14. According to the Articles of War
  15. Starry Vere
  16. We Committed His Body to the Deep

Product description


Benjamin Britten's "Billy Budd", based on Melville's story, is the second-best opera about life on the sea since Wagner's "Flying Dutchman"--the best being Britten's "Peter Grimes". It is one of the 20th Century's most tragic operas and the only important opera with an all-male cast. Its music evokes the ocean: the winds and waves, the sailors' songs, and the harsh realities of a seaman's life on a British 18th-century man-of-war. It climaxes in a deadly confrontation between pure good, embodied in the young sailor Billy Budd (Hampson), and pure evil in the sadistic master at arms, John Claggart (Halfvarson). Composed in 1951, it was shortened to the now standard two acts by Britten for a broadcast in 1960. This brilliant first recording of the original four-act version shows that much was lost in the revision. --Joe McLellan

5 customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

12 December 2012
Format: Audio CDVerified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
6 October 2016
Format: Audio CD
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
10 February 2001
Format: Audio CD
17 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
27 October 2010
Format: Audio CD
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: billy budd

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?