Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2015
All Collins guides are worth buying and this is no exception. A great addition to my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
This is an excellent book.

I have had a lot of Collins natural history books over the years and they are a boon to the amateur naturalist.

This would be a great gift for gardeners and particularly for youngsters who are showing an interest in natural history.

Don't expect to identify everything with this book but it will point you in the right direction as to what it is.

May also be a nice book to keep in the car.

Hard to get a better book than this.

Regards.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
I have a number of natural history guidebooks but I bought this cheap at a NT sale and am very impressed. Its sometimes difficult to find what you're trying to identify in individual guidebooks unless you have an idea what something is already so this general guide is a good start and it saves carrying lots of books round. I favour this over my Collins british wildlife photoguide as the photographs are clearer and its information is better laid out. Infact the photos are so beautifully clear and the sections of information such as the life cycle of the poplar hawk moth and how to improve your garden for different wildlife types that its enjoyable to just sit and flick through it..
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Well presented book though flicking through it, I've read the synopsis on hedgehogs which says attract them to your garden with milk and bread. I'm not sure giving milk to a lactose intolerant hedgehog is a brilliant idea but overall the books seems very informative and well photographed.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
I do as much as I can to attract wildlife into my north London garden and my allotment too. I am fine recognising most birds and butterflies, and have plenty of frogs, toads and newts, but wanted to know more about the bugs, beetles and flying insects that abound. This book is a joy. There is clear and interesting text about what can be done to improve the garden for wildlife and wonderful photos which make identification a doddle.
An essential book for any wildlife gardener
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Given as a gift to first time garden owner They were really pleased and loved all the photos and can now tell one bird from another.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Within 5 minutes of opening this book, I was able to identify two pretty little 'weeds' that grow in my garden, after many unsuccessful attempts via web searches. It has enabled me to quickly identify the juveniles of several bird species by providing photos and descriptions that are absent from the RSPB web site. The photos are lovely, and informative (see especially the photos of small mammal skulls). A very worthwhile purchase that will continue to be used and enjoyed over the years!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
A truly comprehensive book useful for all who have a garden of any size, whether a tiny patch or medium-size like mine. The hundreds of stunningly clear, bright photos are mostly taken by the author and by 30 other talented photographers. I shall certainly be more aware of the plethora of wildlife right there in my own surroundings. This book was mentioned in the interesting illustrated website entitled Wild Yorkshire by Richard Bell who also writes for the monthly Dalesman magazine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
This is a first class pictorial book with notes on what you will see in your garden and everything you will not see even if it is there.
The main sections cover birds,moths and butterflies,reptiles and amphibians,insects,mammals,trees,wild flowers and fungi.
For each species there is an excellent picture (if a bit small),and notes that include Latin name,size description,habitats and status.
An essential if you are interested in your garden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
I bought this book at the same time as the Complete Guide to British Wildlife, and as such it is a perfect companion. It has a different layout the other book, with more detailed descriptions and information, but less entries.

It is ideal for beginners and people who are just starting to take an interest in nature and want to know "what was that insect which landed in my garden?" or "I wonder what that bird is?" The clear photographs make matching up what you have seen to the pictures in the book easy and there are pages of tips and hints on how to introduce and encourage different wildlife to your garden. By no means a complete record of every species there is but an excellent starting point and very informative.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)