Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2009
This is the definitive CD of bird noises, and covers all 175 species encountered in the UK. The quality of the recordings is very good, as one would expect from a British Library badged product, and as an aid to aural identification this is a useful resource, with each species separated into discrete tracks. Each track is introduced verbally by a gentleman who sounds like he'd really rather have been doing something else than voice tagging bird noises, but his diction is crystal clear and accentless. It's a 2 CD set, with passerines on one CD, and non-passerines on the other.

Not really one for the dinner party or the individual wanting to relax to the sound of birdsong, but peerless as a reference resource. I find I'm now wandering round my local area and managing to pick out individual species much more clearly.
0Comment| 190 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2010
I bought these CDs for my wife, who is a sometime birdwatcher. She loves them. They present different sounds for each birds - eg, the normal song, the alarm call, the sound they make at dusk - and she is able to go to different birds and listen, if she wants, again and again to the same species. I recommend them.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
I bought this for my mum. It's fine as it has British bird sounds on it, which is what the description says it does, but sometimes my mum puts this on when I visit, to show she listens to it, and it creates a strange atmosphere as she yells out 'Chaffinch!' etc, or starts imitating the birdsongs at various intervals.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
The 175 bird songs cover about 2.5 hours, with each track introduced with the name of the bird followed by its call (or several depending on the bird). There are two CDs, one covers 'passerine' (birds with feet adapted to perching, the other 'non-passerine' birds. There is also a little booklet which provides a summary of each bird song.

Very useful for any birder.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
Excellent CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Quite good but would be better with an index.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Exactly what we wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2009
This was bought as a gift for my wife who is very interested in birdlife and needed a recording of bird calls to help her recognise species when she was out in the countryside. The CD is perfect for that purpose and has been a great help to her.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
An excellent aid to distinguishing the birds you can hear but can't see. With the tracks downloaded onto an Ipod you can take the sounds to the birds.Well worth the investment.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)